Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2013
Bought for a fan of the series, this book is lovely. Goes behind the scenes at downton abbey. Great detail and beautiful pictures. Even though I have never watched the show, I enjoyed looking through the book, so much work goes into getting everything perfect. This book would make any fan happy
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
This is a long and detailed account of how Downton Abbey is put together, the challenges, the tricks of the trade and, especially, the attention to detail. I suspect that it could serve as a model description of how any costume drama is put together for TV. There are many illustrations: some rather tend to destroy the illusion, e.g. Lady Mary's frocks seem closer to upholstery; whilst others the reverse, e.g. a most impressive line up of Carson and the footmen. The book covers a remarkable range of subjects including such essentials as the manufacture of a reproduction 1920's menu or the supply of period vehicles sometimes complete with owner/driver. Overall a relaxing and enjoyable read. Ideal for bedtime.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
Interesting backstage behind the scenes of the phenomenon that is Downton Abbey. Loved the colour photos and the behind the scenes snippets of information from cast and crew.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2013
It's extremely interesting and attractively presented.
The colour pics are terrific
I would recommend to any fan of Downton Abbey
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
An excellent companion to the series with interesting additions and anecdotes, it makes the programme much more enjoyable and informative.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
I really enjoyed this book. Since we have to wait so long to see Downton in the U. S., it helps keep the excitement under control. lol
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
I love this book so much that I bought 2; one for me and one for my daughter-in-law. Anything Downton is wonderful, well done and much anticipated. Thank you so much for offering it. It will last until I get my Year 4 dvd from you in November!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
This is a great read worth every penny !! If you are a fan of the program this is a must buy
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
A must for the Downton afficianado..............
Test your knowledge by flicking through the book to see what you recognise and what you remember! If you are a true fan then this book is for you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2013
How you will find the book very much depends what you want from it. The book is mainly about film making as such and what it takes to produce the series. The first 60 pages are pretty general stuff, interspersed with references to DA, but any series would be made like this. Then you get introduced to the several departments, such as location management, make-up, costume, props, studio preparation, lighting, etc and you learn what each of them contributes to the making. That was a bit more specific, but after a while I was a bit tired of reading just how much effort goes into every detail (there have been other productions that got it right, too)
On the whole you learn how much and what it takes to produce such a series. I did find this interesting, but the information would apply to any series. There are quite a few nice photos of DA scenes, costumes, etc and the odd quote from actors. However, if you tend to visit the facebook side occasionally, you will have seen and read it all before.
In my view: a nice and well made merchandising item, but not more. Regarding background information on the period, how characters were designed and why they act how they act, there is much more to be found in the Scriptbook to series one.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)