Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
487
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 August 2017
The story itself is obviously a classic. But I'm not keen on this paperback edition. It's too small, and the cover is very, very thin and floppy, with a weak spine. With so many pages and relatively small text, it is difficult to get the book read without accidentally twisting or tearing it. It is uncomfortable to hold straight, not helped by the odd matte cover finish which feels unpleasant. The artwork isn't anything special. I will be purchasing a different edition, in hardback!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
I first read the Silmarillion 25 years ago and found it hard to follow. I have always loved the writing of Tolkien and the mind that conceives of the struggle of good over evil in its many complex and extended life forms. I have revisited this book now and it flows. The prose is of course masterful and the imagination awe inspiring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
Excellent book, albeit a bit hard going in places. It covers all the early history alluded to in the Hobbit and Lord of the rings. Well worth reading for fans of the other books.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2017
REad it only second-time and still as enjoyable. JRR has many copiers but his is still the best 'historical' novel of Middle Earth. [His son compiled it thro' Dad;s notes. Well done that lad!]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2017
Came in the right day but though i got a new/non used one, it has some very small signs of damage on the edges of the paperwork. so if you are a collector i don't recomend this, now if you just wanna read it it's perfect, the paper is recycled so yay good for the planet i guess! it's generally worth it and i do recomend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
The Silmarillion
good buy great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
beautiful masterpiece, easy to read yet engaging and a simple Comparatively easier language and an easier read that Lord f the rings ( not any less great though)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2017
It was a great book I wish Tolkien was still alive so he could make another book such as this and the story at the end was sad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2017
Arrived on time and as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
Great storytelling
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.59

Need customer service? Click here