Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
112
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 September 2013
This is the first TV/Movie tie-in I have read that does total justice to the source material. Andrew Kaplan has it nailed. This is a perfect prequel story to events that lead to the emergence of Brody. The characters are explored in more depth and are so recognisable as portrayed on screen. This is no lacklustre story. It has a complexity that all good thrillers should have and explores the sectarian divide that makes for odd political alliances in the troubled middle east. This gives the story a realism that had the show not existed, then this would be an excellent thriller in its own right.
I would have expected a tie-in novel of the show to have been penned by its executive producer Howard Gordon, but having read his two very average 'Gideon' books, I'm glad it was left in the capable hands of an established thriller writer. The blurb on the back cover hints at more. I hope so. It would be nice to see some of the other characters portrayed who are less well known, but destined for a bigger role in the saga, particularly the mysterious and enigmatic Dar Adal, as played by the excellent F Murray Abraham.
I was so impressed with the book that I am now going to have a look at Andrew Kaplan's back catalogue. Based on the evidence of this story, I don't think i'll be disappointed. Give it a try.
33 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
I've been anticipating the release of this book and it definitely does not disappoint. There are many parallels with the TV Series including characters, milieu and Carrie's mental state. The story explodes off the first page with Carrie escaping an assassination attempt in Beirut. Despite battling her psychological demons with her emotions on a never ending roller coaster, she is still portrayed as this clear headed analyst amongst all the chaos. Her search for the double agents who facilitated the assassinate attempt leads her hot on the trail of Abu Nazier in Lebanon and Iraq. Whilst there, she discovered a terrorist plot against New York City and shows characteristic Carrie determination in trying to prevent it. Estes and Saul also feature prominently in the book and Virgil remains her go to surveillance guy. We are introduced to a new player, Abu Ubaida, who is Abu Nazier's right hand man planning multiple terrorist attacks. In her search for Abu Nazier and Abu Ubaida, Carrie leaves a wake of collateral damage and tries to deal with it as best she can. This is an action filled, gruesome, thrilling read and perfectly compliments the TV Series. If you enjoyed the show, don't miss this book.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
Loved this book. I am a massive fan of the TV series so wasn't sure what to expect but it really is worth a read. You really do feel like you are on Carrie's run with her. From reading the book I've seen Carrie in a different light! I'm now a fan of hers I wasn't from the TV show.
The book can be hard going because of the theme, at times it uses different language but keep going as this just makes the book more realistic. Alike the series this book can be far fetched and there Is twists thrown into surprise you, that is after all why you probably bought this book in the first place. Expect it!!!
I was addicted to this book - enjoy :)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
In a word? Awesome. If you love the hit show HOMELAND from Showtime, you'll love this book. It is so true to character, you'll think you're watching the prequel episode. Absolutely wonderful, thrilling, edge-of-your seat exciting. A great read to keep you going in between seasons. I hope and look forward to more Homeland titles from this author!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
Well written and compelling, they really should make a TV series of this - oh sorry, they already have. No need to have seen Homeland to enjoy this book, an excellent thriller in its own right.

Homeland gives Carrie a brief Beirut ops background but with no detail. This fills it in. The book is really in two halves. First, espionage and murder in New York and Beirut, introducing Carrie, Saul and David Estes who appear in Homeland. This is a lively account of CIA involvement in foiling terrorist plots and tracking down their leaders. Then it moves to Iraq, just after Saddam's defeat and becomes much more military. The graphic portrayal of Iraq in the grip of almost anarchy and the way the Americans can only move in heavily defended convoys gives the lie to any story of gratefully liberated peoples. Then back to Beirut to tie up loose ends.

Got very confused with the different organisations in the Middle East, but having found the useful glossary at the back it shows just how confusing it is in real life. We tend to see Al Qaida as the only bogeyman, but thats just one of many groupings, who slaughter each other as eagerly as they do westerners. Cant say this book illuminated it much but it does show what a mess the whole place was in.
Overall, a really good read, maybe stretching credibility in places (dont all such novels?) but it ties up well and could well make its own series.
BE WARNED: there are two more 'books' listed on Amazon as parts 2 and 3 of this series. They are actually only repeat content from this volume - do not buy them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
This was a very gripping and well written book.it is the first time I have read any of Andrew Kaplan`s book.it was thoroughly enjoyable and I will be definitely reading more of his books.I thought the characterisation was very good indeed and it was really good to be able to read a book on the homeland tv series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2015
Good writing, emulating the intense nature of the TV program (which I love). As per the program, there are mistakes, disasters, loose ends that don''t get tied up, explosions, fights, trickery, traps, etc, etc. Lots of good guys die. Good pace to the book. Easy to read - tends to follow a single progressive plot. All the usual characters - good and bad. Convincing narrative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
Stumbled upon this little gem whilst looking for other books of this genre, really glad I found it! I loved the series, having seen it before reading the book it gave the characters that bit more depth. I could really visualise Carrie and Saul. The book previewed Carries youth which gave an insight to her discovering and trying to cope with bipolar. The book was clever and tense and it really sets things up nicely for the next Kaplan novel, Sauls Game. Even if you'd never seen the series this would be an exciting journey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2016
While I wasn't sure I would like this book I'm so pleased I stuck with it. The first 50 pages were ok although not brilliantly written. The rest of the book was edge of the seat can't put it down stuff just like the tv series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
Loved it! Having seen the first four episodes, I could imagine what each face looked like, their expressions,mets. This book made it all come alive again and I was gripped from start to finish. Get it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.