Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. In each chapter, Tom and David provided useful insights, backing them up with impactful examples and adding further support with research findings where necessary. I think every one should read this at least once in their lifetime! I think this book is a must for anyone who wants to have an impact in their life, be it through a company or a non-profit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
I loved this book, full of great ideas and encouragement. It's not claiming to make you millions or to show you exactly how to start a business, it's simply trying to help give you back a bit of what you may already have.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
Well written and expresses the geni of the two brothers and their creative confidence to leave a legacy of design thinking that has revolutionised business cultures around the globe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2017
Brilliant book that will change your whole perspective on creativity. I would recommend it to everyone whether you consider yourself creative or not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
Fantastic read, simple narrative style, great story telling, not at all preachy! Some really wonderful takeaways - the kind of book I will now dip in and out of for inspiration going forward
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
The book is great - I knew that - but it took a long time coming!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 14 October 2013
I have read Tom Kelley's books and am well aware of David Kelley's leadership of IDEO and the Hasso Plattner Institute of Design ("d.school") at Stanford University. Individually, each is among the most influential and highly regarded authorities on creative and innovative thinking. What we have in this volume is a unique and compelling collaboration on information, insights, and counsel that can help their reader to "unleash the creative potential within." They insist -- and I agree -- that literally anyone can live a more creative life, at work and elsewhere, in all situations in which they have problems to solve, questions to answer, goals to set, tasks to complete, and relationships to nourish.

The Kelleys challenge all manner of misconceptions, such as the common refrain "I'm just not creative." In fact, they suggest, "As brothers who have worked together for thirty years at the forefront of innovation, we have come to see this set of misconceptions as 'the creativity myth.' It is a myth that far too many people share. This book is about the opposite of that myth. It is about what we call 'creative confidence.' And at its foundation is the belief that we are [begin italics] all [end italics]...Creative confidence is a way of seeing that potential and your place in the world more clearly, unclouded by anxiety and doubt. We hope you'll join us on our quest to embrace creative confidence in our lives. Together, we can all make the world a better place."

Incremental innovation may sometimes be the most effective way to improve one or more aspects of one's life as well as of a company. For example, in 2004, a leadership team led by Jørgen Vig Knudstorp transformed LEGO - "brick by brick" - into one of the world's most innovative as well as most profitable and fastest growing toy companies.

These are among the dozens of business subjects and issues of special interest and value to me, also listed to indicate the scope of the Kelleys' coverage.

o Creativity Now (Pages 7-10)
o Three Key Factors to Balance (23-26)
o Design-Driven Innovation (26-28)
o Nurturing Creative Thinkers, and A Growth State of Mind (32-36)
o The Failure Paradox, and Designing for Courage (44-49)
o Permission to Fail (53-57)
o Drawing Confidence (63-67)
o Cultivate a Creative Spark (78-81)
o Empathize with Your End User (89-92)
o Do Observations in the Field (93-98)
o Reframe Challenges (103-105)
o Cultivate Creative Serendipity (109-111)
o The "Do Something" Mindset: Live in the Active Voice (119-122)
o Experiment to Learn (134-136)
o Find Your Sweet Spot (165-167)
o Strategies to Get Started With (253-260)

Here are three of several reasons why I think this is Tom Kelley's most valuable book...thus far...and why I think his collaboration with David Kelley achieves a level of excellence that neither brother could (probably) have achieved alone. First, like world-class musicians in a jazz band, they are playing the same song (let's say "All Blues" with Miles Davis) but with different instruments and with improvisation that enriches rather than detracts from the pure quality of the group's sound. The Kelleys are masters of carefully nurtured spontaneity.

Also, they are passionate advocates, indeed evangelists about helping as many people as possible to think innovatively about how they can [begin italics] live [end italics] more innovatively. The Kelleys know that developing that mindset will require courage to overcome significant -- albeit self-generated -- fear. That is why the ten strategies they recommend near the conclusion of the book take human nature (for better or worse) into full account. Although heaven knows the disruptive innovations for which IDEO is renowned are exciting, the reality is that most people have convinced themselves that they are incapable of generating them, even when in collaboration with others. They lack courage because they lack confidence.

Finally, the Kelleys are committed to being eager and enthusiastic collaborators with their readers as well as with their students, their colleagues and their clients. To those plagued by self-doubts, struggling with self-imposed limits, they have an emotional intelligence that provides a reassurance, anchored in reality rather than delusional PMA, that people really can believe in what is possible for them. First, they have to imagine it and then summon the courage to believe they can achieve it. Any journey of personal discovery is necessarily perilous. Tom Kelley and David Kelley are ideal companions for that journey.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
Good intro to ideo and reign thinking and an insight into the minds of the brothers invoked, but was hoping for more detail on design thinking. This is primary about general themes, other books will no doubt provide a more I depth apogee view of design thinking.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
most of the things in this book I have come across before. It's advantage and helpfulness to me is that all these things are now together in one place, and I can rate which ones I need to work on. That last is the reason for my 3 rating. It's a bit hard.....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2015
I got this book as a recommendation. To be honest, at the beginning I thought the book was going to be a series hard to relate to case studies, but I could not be more wrong, really great book full of tips and tricks for bringing creativity into your day to day life. Definitely getting a few extra copies to gift friends over the holidays.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)