Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5,113
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£30.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 September 2017
Unfortunately Harper Collins' idea of a Large Print Edition is not my idea of large print at all. I have a large print Dickens novel from readhowyouwant.com which says it is 16pt and alongside it this print of the Tolkien is not much over half the size of the Dickens. Unfortunately no-one else seems able to help with a set of Rings, rights must belong just to HC. So now that I am retired and have the time to read and re-read these wonderful books i can't. No disrespect to Amazon but all three volumes are being returned.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2016
Wonderful sketches by a master artist. It is also the story of the artistic process of making LOTR where Lee must have had to draw lightning fast, at a moment's notice when the production team wanted to go in close on some small device or area of a room/town/world! Terrific imagination and innovation, but he shares the limelight by naming his collaborators who brought his sketches to life on the big screen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
This is to replace a copy of this great work to which I no longer have access. I am about half way through and am just as entertained as I was the first few times I read it. The book itself seems well constructed and the spine is holding out so far. How it will perform over the years, time will tell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
Love this book. Constantly pick it up to look at the sketches, some of which are incredible. The paragraphs by Alan Lee that accompany the sketches are excellent too and give nice insight into the work and his time working on LOTR. Would highly recommend to any Tolkien and art fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2017
This clever "comic-book" format is an excellent introduction, for children, to a book which they will find quite difficult, in its complete original form!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
I bought this after reading Leaf by Niggle as it spurred me onto to read Tolkein classics. As described, unused. Well packaged prompt delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Great read but the book didn't have the same cover as the picture which was a little disappointing as I was looking for a specific cover type to match my other LOTR books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
great, couldn't be happier
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2017
This is a lovely story and Tolkien is an exquisite writer, he can take on the roles of many characters and its almost as if you are on the journey with them. I would recommend this to teens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2017
Recieved in good time. Claims to be used. Small damage on outer box edge. Otherwise perfect
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse