Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
486
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 February 2015
Was a big fan of Iron Mike, grew up seeing him terrorise opponents as an 18 year old. This book does however show he was really on the edge. Littered with constant profanity, Iron Mike still comes across as a slightly rough individual and his musings about all manner of things and the way he still describes his interactions with various women leaves me feeling a little uneasy. The good thing is Mike has not sanitised his story.
Mike appears to be the product of his childhood and tough adolescence. If his writings here are accepted on face value, he's been as much a victim as a victimiser.
A phenomenally gifted and dedicated athlete (at least dedicated in the early days) Mike's legacy should have been even brighter than it undoubtedly always will be in the world of boxing- if he hadn't lost his mentor Cus so early in his career I can't help but think things may have been different for him.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
Its hard to know where to start with a review for this book. Over the past 25 yrs there have been many so called Mike Tyson biographies I've read a few so thought that I knew the full story but there was a lot in here that took me by suprise. I thinks its fair to say of all of the books on Tyson this is the only one that counts.
There's certainly a lot of content at almost 570 pages this is twice the book that most autobiographies are. During the time I read this my opinion of Tyson went up and down like a rollercoaster, from being shocked, to thinking that this guy is a complete idiot to feeling sorry for him and at the end I'm still not entirely sure.
One point worth mentioning is that Mikes actual boxing career probably accounts for less than half the content of the book.

If you don't want to see any spoilers stop reading now:

Otherwise he's my overview of this book,

We all know the story of Mikes rise to become the youngest ever Heavyweight champ under the guidance of Cus D'Amato, the marriage to Robin Givens, the legal battles over his management and his loss to Buster Douglas then conviction and incarceration for rape. The comeback and loss to Holyfeild and the ear biting incident.

However the real interesting insights that are less known about and covered in this book are the stories of Mikes childhood and just how big a criminal he was and how brutal the environment was.

The complete lack of ability he had with dealing with his finances (which stemmed from his childhood) it really seemed like someone should have given him some help, although trying to tell a young Tyson what to do with his money would have been a thankless task. Some of the frivolourity of his spending even after his second reign as champ (when he should have learned his lesson) is truly mind blowing! Its clear that giving Mike access to money was like giving a alcoholic the keys to your liquor cabinet.

The hassles of women trying to file lawsuits against him after just before and just after his incarceration (it seemed every golddigger in the country saw him as an easy target).

The biggest shocker to me was finding out the true extent of his drug addiction which spiralled after his loss to Lennox Lewis and his actions after his career finally ended. He basically went on a huge drugs binge that lasted for years living off the charity of wealthy fans and indulging in serious amounts of drugs and hookers.

Throughout it all Mike seems to be brutally honest which some of the times makes it difficult for the reader to have and sympathy for him, even admitting in a postscript to the epilogue that he is still battling his cocaine addiction.

In summary even if you have a slight interest in Tyson or just enjoy A list Biographies then you should read this book.
11 Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 November 2013
"Undisputed Truth" is memoir book of one of the most controversial man and athlete in past decades, Mike Tyson. And what is more important to emphasize, a very good memoir book.

Tyson who grew up in one of the meanest and poorest Brooklyn neighborhood Brownsville, he managed to become one of the most famous and ferocious all-time boxers and the youngest heavyweight champion ever.

Tyson who never knew his father and lost his mother when he was teenager, was member of the gang, walking around with the gun in his hand, he dropped out of the school but nevertheless became a successful boxer, married movie star and earned plenty of money.
But no matter how quickly he earned money even faster he spent all went bankrupt, eventually even ending up in prison humiliated before the whole world.

It's incredible to read how he spent money when he had it in abundance, for example buying the entire stock of Rolls Royce cars.
He had problems with alcohol and so it's interesting to learn that during recording of "The Hangover" movie in which he appeared he was also drunk or going through a hangover himself.

Mike Tyson's autobiography is very brave and honest book that speaks frankly about his life from his own mouth, being equally brutal on himself like he was in ring to other boxers. He speaks about those people who once were with him all the time when he was popular, and then turned their backs on him when everything went downhill.

He will also mention his (in)famous promoter Don King about which he doesn't have anything nice to say calling him names for his theft of around 50 million dollars from Tyson due to his naivety.

He also speaks about his ex-wife and his ex-mother-in-law for which he also uses rather harsh words accusing them for his financial crash and manipulation.
He is telling that his ex Robin Givens faked a pregnancy in order to receive lot of money being supposedly three months pregnant when they got married and sometime later she told him that she had miscarried baby even though there weren't any evidence that she was pregnant at all.
Inside, Tyson also tried to give more information on his rape conviction asking reader how is possible to rape someone who come to your hotel room at two A.M....

Overall, "Undisputed Truth" is not the book that speaks about Tyson the known boxer, but the book about Mike Tyson, a man of flesh and blood, honest and intimate story about the private life of a man who has made countless mistakes in life.

And as much he was loved or hated, this is the book that after you read you will have the opportunity to learn the full truth of what had happened in his life, what made him like he was.

It doesn't mean that his life justifies everything he done, but it certainly gives a lot of explanation.
Definitely book that should be read.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2017
Not much actual boxing here but the tales of excess are quite something. Its very tacky excess but it's the least we can expect of the most important heavyweight for me of the last 40 years. One thing I can be sure about regarding Mike Tyson is that he didn't rape Miss Black Teen America and he isn't a racist. His anger is that of the wronged and his love for Gus D'Amato is genuine. Tyson wrote this himself to a large degree, you can tell by the style, and its the most interesting aspect of the book. He's an autodidact and typically of the self taught, a narcissistic egotist of the highest order. A total fashion victim, from Maseratis' and Hennessy to the Islam conversion. Everything is for show. Aggrieved and stung about Robin Givens but uninterested in all the other women he treated like muck. In fact the women, many as they were, are an irrelevance to him, barely described or I imagine remembered. What they saw in him beggars belief? Forgettable bar Kiki his now wife. His 7/8? children are anonymous and just pile up in the background as an aside. Exodus gets mawkish maudlin tribute but only because she died. He is still very angry about the time in prison for rape but he never attributes it to Karma, recompense for his criminal past for which undeservedly he never did a day in jail. He is too full of self pity and self regard. In one sense you feel for him in his friendships. He's never had a real one, even as he names so many names. Trump is one for example. I don't think he knows that. All hangers-on or business types. But it's hard to have empathy for Tyson who is really such a bore as a person. Still Tyson is Tyson and boxing needs someone like him now. He was an awesome boxer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
I bought this book mainly because of my admiration for Mike Tyson; and I must say I have not been let down in the slightest. His journey to becoming the greatest ever heavyweight boxer is telling, and you cannot help but admire him even more. I literally read all 570 odd pages of this book within 72 hours of receiving it, even with all the other commitments I have. Once I got going, I didn't want to put the book down.
Tyson is at large a misunderstood person, so it is interesting to hear more about what he went through, and why he became the man he did.
Reading this book will certainly make you experience a range of different emotions. In this book Tyson made me laugh with some of the content he reveals; he made me happy with his achievements and his success; he made me sad with some of the decisions he made; and he also made me feel sorry for him for some of the things he has had to endure in his life.
Growing up in the tough Brooklyn district in a dysfunctional home, his marriage to Robin Givens, his imprisonment, his bankruptcy after grossing in excess of $300 million, the loss of his daughter Exodus and his drug habit are all explained in graphic detail, so there is no shortage of content and excitement.
This is probably the best autobiography I have read. It is so good, I would pay double the RRP. So at the current price you are getting an absolute bargain.
There is a lot of bad language for those who might see this as a problem.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2017
Iron Mike. Haven't read the book yet. Only arrived the other day. But Iron Mike & his first mentior Cus D'amato are both true legends & when enough of the smoke of time is passed, hopefully the world will understand what a trugly great and sinsituve & complete beast the man is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
This is a 5 star is every category. Great honest, informative, and well written content. Great value for money £8 for this book is a steal. This book is a monster 564 pages in small print. This does not mean much is the subject is however Tyson's story, life and career is so riveting I was interested almost addicted all the way through.

If have any interest in boxing or contact sports in general you will know who Mike Tyson is I think Lennox Lewis' manager said it best in his quote "Tyson is the most exciting heavy weight fighter to come down in the last 50 year". Completely true growing up in the late 80's it was not a question of who could beat Tyson (that would just be the kind of talk that got someone committed#, it was which round they would be knocked out in. he seemed to be born and bred for fighting. He was vicious in the ring he was not looking to win points he was looking coming to fight and knock someone out. Then everything went wrong. Starting from his marriage to his publicised allegations and sentencing. Since he came out he was never the same in the ring, but when you read the book you will find that this was the least of his issues.

The book is written in the first person, but it is almost like it is written by two different people; like a split personality Iron Mike the conqueror, and Mike the person living in his shadow. One minute is talking the perks of living it up as the world the women the money, then Mike talking about the shame of having betrayed the person he was with, yet he is talking about the same topic.

Reading the book I saw how this came about. The outward persona Mike projected, and how he lived that persona. Like he said he talked the talk but he walked the walk too. He was almost brainwashed into creating Iron Mike. Finishing the book I keep wondering how Tyson's life would have been different if Cus had survived. He was the one person Tyson listened to the person who could tell him no and make him stop. The person who was such a perfectionist he would tell Mike what he did wrong even after a first round knockout.

Mike describes himself as an extremist #not because he is a Muslim, I will come back to that later). Looking at his life through the book he more than lives up to the statement. From no money to too much, no women to women throwing themselves at him many at a time. The extremes he lived with at an early age he was not prepared for and many people taking advantage of him. Again is Cus had survived he might have had someone in his corner to help him deal with this. Throughout the book Mike comes across a bit naive but as does display many street smarts. An example is not hiding his handcuffs when he was sentenced because he knew the image it would project to the inmates inside before he arrived. He also shows great aptitude for learning especially in history and psychological warfare. If he was bone a couple of centuries earlier, his name would have been up there with Spartacus or Hercules.

Towards the end of the book, we get more of grown up Mike's perception. The biggest example I can think of how much he has grown is where talks about his own beliefs. My interpretation he is mature enough to understand religion is based on your own perceptions and you need to make your own choices with as much information as you have.

Mike talks open and honestly about every experience in his life good or bad, if you question his honesty the last postscript should convince even the harshest critic he has told the truth. I really enjoyable and informative read. It is not so much an inspirational tale for me, more of a cautionary one about how to deal with the excesses of success, and having people you can trust around you. Another reviewer said the mark of good autobiography is the author gives you a better impression of themself after you have read it. I was already a fan of Tyson but after reading this I did have a higher opinion of him than before I read it. A 5 star book by any margin.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
Well what can I say, what a great book,this tells the real stories. His love for cus d'amato drips from the pages. His relationships with women can be understood not agreed but understood. His love for boxing is evident. He describes his struggles with honesty. The story which answers most questions. Read it
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2015
To be honest, I didn't expect much from this book. I am not into boxing, not much into religion and I didn't think much of Mike Tyson to start with.
All of that has changed.
This book has shown me more about life than any other. From the inspiring quotes from Cus about mental strenght to the rollercoaster of boxing-drinks-drugs-depression. How a life that seems fulfilling is nothing more than an empty shell and how your demons will haunt you. Mike, with his honesty has allowed me to appreciate that I am what I am, no more or less, and that even being born in the ghetto you are in control of your destiny.
That there are good and bad people in the world, and that a lot of people will try to take advantage of you when others only want to help.
For the last few days reading I keep telling my wife: "this is like Mike Tyson" or "you won't believe what happened to him" and she would look at me like looking at a stranger because I was never interested in sports and the only thing I knew about boxing is that they use gloves.
But I am interested in human nature in the face of adversity, and Mike had plenty.
I can only say, if he ever reads this, that I am proud of you Mike, for fighting your demons and for be able to love and to be loved.
Only if you read the book you will understand.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2014
Can't stop reading it, its an excellent book it feels like you re watching an action movie live, Tyson is an incredible fighter with lots of up and down it s an emotionally rich book to read ....Everybody has a Tyson 's in themselves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)