Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 10 August 2001
The Lord of the Rings is many things to many people, but to define it as a 'fantasy' novel is an injustice. Whilst Tolkien surely defined that genre (albeit inadvertently) his masterpiece is both an engaging and memorable epic and a scholarly study of linguistics and the scope of human imagination. Although some of the characterisation and prose is perhaps a little twee by modern standards, the sheer scale and depth of this work is staggering and I am sure that it must rank among the most re-read of books. A bible for hippies, a refuge for everyone - if you have never been to Middle Earth, I urge you to give it a try. Be prepared to be gripped and ultimately drained. A work of pure genius.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
A brilliant representation of mystery, magic, noble deeds and evil plots-The Dragon's word's, riddles in the dark, giant spiders...and the entry into the long-lost Erebor, The Lonely Mountain!
A must read at any cost!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
there is nothing in this trilogy not to like, loyalty,friendship,trust and most of all bravery. Frodo,sam merry & pippen showed great courage, supported by a multitude of people with (an out date term) honour & commitment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
the books arrived within the allotted time and were in perfect condition. It was difficult finding this edition that also contained the hobbit where i live but the convenience and the timing was simple, fast and efficient.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2013
If im perfectly honest you should buy this book, its pretty awesome. But the ending is awful in my opinion, up until the ending the book is incredible but it has a very quick ending that, although is unexpected, is stupid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
I was bitterly disappointed by this book. I had heard great things about it, but it did not live up to expectations. Bilbo Baggins is a charming, funny character, yet the actual story and other characters are very tedious.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
I bought this for my dads birthday and he loved it. He said it reminded him of his childhood, sitting in his room as a little boy and reading it. I would recommend it to everyone, because its a good book and worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
I read this when I was about 11 and loved it. Full of adventure. I decided to read it again when I heard Peter Jackson had got hold of it and it's just as fun now as it was then. A must read for all fantasy fiction lovers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2010
dont be put off this book if you struggled with the content of other tolkien books as i have!this is very much geared for young and old and the writing is superb.its a must read at xams time and is a classic alongside the xmas carol and the night before xmas.i still read this to my grown up children at xmas and we never fail to laugh at the antics of the polar bear and his nephews.its wonderful in every way and every home should have a copy.mine is dogeared from time so have brought a copy for each of my children as they have flown the nest.i cannot wait for a grandchild to read this to.i cannot recommend this enough for all people that are young at heart and love the spirit of xmas as i do.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2000
How can one man create an entire world, numerous cultures, exquisite poetry, volumes of history, and a language (Elvish) that is so beautiful to read and yet is so difficult to understand it rivals Ancient Greek! And yet he, JRR Tolkien, has done it - and fitted it into 3 volumes (not counting, The Silmarillion, The Hobbit, The Unfinished Tales - need I go on?). Some may say the book is too long and is hard to get through, but by the time you have read the poem used as a frontespiece, and by the time you have entered Bag End, by the time you have met the characters - you will find it hard to put down. A timeless classic that cannot be outdone in its description, plot and characters.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse