Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5,152
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2013
Visited as a child, read to a child, read again as aged 50. I will, no doubt visit Bilbo's Middle Earth again, possibly with grandchildren when they appear. Update:- I'm now a grandfather, can't wait to share with Wolfy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 1999
This book was by far the best book I have ever read.....and I have read ALOT of books!! Truly original story and characters. This classic will live on through generations of future readers. READ THIS BOOK or miss out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
I ordered the wrong item but my dad was hppy lol
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2007
Nobody should underestimate Tolkien's contribution to the canon of English literature in general, or his influence on the genre of fantasy in particular. His body of work is epic in scope and impressive in detail. I know an awful of lot people for whom Tolkien is the begining and the end - no other writer comes close. His work has been translated into numerous languages and three fine feature films have brought his work to life on the screen.

However, for every Tolkien fanatic I know, I can also point to a barely touched copy of the Fellowship gathering dust in an attic. Many readers fall by the wayside without really denting the tome. The Lord of the Rings(LOTR) Trilogy is hard work - there's just too much noise getting in the way of the story and the characters. You really need to perservere with the LOTR. Sometimes it seems that Tolkien has deliberately thrown obstacles in the reader's path to test their resolve or worthiness - archaic language, agonising digressions, turgid poetry and songs that make you want to leap out the window.

Tolkien will still be read in a hundred years I'm sure, and rightly so. Just don't go buy the books because you liked the films. If your typical novel experience is an easy holiday read - a Dan Brown or a Michael Crichton, or your attention span isn't better than the average Joe's, then steer well away. Otherwise, it just might change you life. ( Kind of! )

You'll either love it or hate. ( Apart for me! )
33 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2015
Great book which has been a bit forgotten in all the hype over the movie. The book is obviously much slower and dense, but all the more rewarding, although younger readers who saw the film first might think it TOO slow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
I decided to read the hobbit after I finished the Lord of the Rings trilogy and I have to say. I found this a lot better to read that the L.O.T.R. books.
A lot of fun to read and well worth it for any L.O.T.R. Fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2015
Following on from the sucess of reading 'The Hobbit', this book was bought as a present for my 9 year old son. He is very much enjoying the story. The only slight disappointment with this book is the small type face.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2015
I just think it's a great book and you should read it it's awesome.
Please read it .
It is about a hobbyist that goes on a journey with dwarves to take back there castle from..........
Find out yourself.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
I biugt this to read to my children during a 7 week trip around India. Every night we read about 10 pages and just managed to stretch it over the trip. A wonderfu book for all age groups and better than the film!!! xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
I first read this book when I was a teenager.
I have seen the film on numerous occasions, and it is great to re-read the book (in Kindle version)
Also reading on the Kindle is much easier as it is a big book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse