Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
266
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£25.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 September 2010
I wanted this book from the day I read about it, but waited until the printing errors were sorted out. Amazon haven't really highlighted the publishers note that says this is now on to the third reprint, and is therefore error free. So I now have a copy. And it was worth the 6 month wait.

This really is beautiful. The way some of the figures are presented is brilliantly original, and really fires the imagination for how information could be better presented. And I was surprised at some practical pages as well - eg salad dressing recipes, with quantities represented visually.

This is one of those books that will sit in the book case and be dipped into every now and again for inspiration. Enjoy it.
11 comment| 128 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 February 2010
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Author David McCandless deserves full marks for concept, design, and content of this book. It is indeed a beautiful and endlessly fascinating book that presents all sort of information from the profound to the trivial in a highly accessible way. It is the sort of thing that is ideal to dip into at random and know you are bound to come away with some new bit of knowledge, and I have no doubt our copy will end up very well-thumbed indeed.

So why the low marks? Those are for the publishers alone. A substantial number of the graphics here are missing the text that turns them from an abstract image into information. Some graphics seem to disappear off the edge of the page, others have a title but no legend to help decipher the image, graphs may show a legend for only one axis and leave the reader to guess the other. Frustratingly, the author's own website reveals that these errors were noticed in the American edition and he attempted to correct them before the British edition was printed, however the publishers opted to just publish the same book, errors and all.

This should be a stunning book with broad appeal, however in its present state I cannot honestly recommend paying for a copy.
33 comments| 128 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
That there are printing mistakes in this book is a crying shame. For a book that will rise or fall on the veracity of its data, to have twelve pages with the data missing is more than unfortunate. That this UK addition has the same mistakes as an earlier American edition, seems like commercial suicide. What were Collins thinking? I feel for David McCandless, as this book has clearly been a labour of love.

That said, 'Information is Beautiful' is a brilliant book. If the twelve messed up pages were completely absent, it would still be a brilliant book. So even though you feel like you are being cheated, you're not. The other 244 pages are a feast for the eyes, and are well worth parting you from your cash. The US version is in its second edition, so if you want it to be perfect, maybe you could wait for the same over here? (There is an downloadable errata on 'IiB' website)

February strikes me as an odd date for the release of this book. It's exactly the sort of thing you would expect to see on the shelves in the run up to Christmas. It's Schott's Almanac on acid, made to appeal to the reader's inner geek. McCandless' mission is to take the assault of information that comes with living in the technological age, and represent it in a way that is easy to understand: Visually. He does so with aplomb - there are hundreds of facts in here, all in glorious technicolor.

There are graphs, pie charts and flow charts, fairly ordinary ways of displaying information, but there are also bubble clusters, Coxcombs and the delightfully named 'semantic polar grids', which are like candy for nerds. There is even a page displaying visual ways of displaying information. Subjects range from Creation Myths to Salad Dressings, via The Middle East. It's wonderful!

I must confess that you don't have to cut into me very far before you reach my inner geek (nerdiness is only skin deep), but I love this book. I've been flicking through it for hours much to the annoyance of my wife. This is a fine reference book (though I have no idea about the quality of the data collected), and would make an ideal gift for the geek in your life.
22 comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2010
Whilst this book is beautifully laid out and contains some fascinating facts (Finns are the happiest people in the world, it takes 5 litres of water to make 1 litre of bottled water) I was disappointed for several reasons:
The predominant cited source seems to be Wikipedia. This is laziness for a book that celebrates the diversity of information.
Items such as Loevinger's Stages of Development or Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs are mainly unembellished lists, freely available in the same format elsewhere. Why not celebrate the wondrous things that are now being done with mashups instead?
The omission of the text on a number of pages, as reported in other reviews, is inexcusable. The publisher is knowingly selling faulty goods.
I was so looking forward to this book, being a fan of McCandless's work, so it pains me to give it such a poor review.
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
I had seen this book in paper form and thought it looked great. I decided that as it was available as a Kindle book it would look great on my iPad. What a let down. The translation to Kindle is dreadful many of the diagrams will not orientate correctly to enable you to read them ie they display sideways. You have to autolock orientation and keep rotating the iPad and zooming in/out to view pages correctly.

The content is obviously still interesting but a very sloppy implementation on Kindle. Publisher if you are going to put it on Kindle do it properly. If I had been aware of this poor implementation I would have purchased the paper copy.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 25 February 2010
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Page 128 of this book is devoted to the different types of graphics used in diagrams, forty are named with a little graphic of each (pie chart; bar chart; word cloud etc and one called 'Dunno what to call it' chart) and I thought it would have been useful to run this page at the front of the book so that readers could try and identify what type of graphic was used on each page.

The editorial is an interesting one and gets away from the Tufte format of reproducing existing material by creating all the graphics for this book and maybe this is one of its weaknesses. I found so many of these graphic pages just too unwieldy and confusing, sort of the opposite of what this type of material is supposed to do: visually present information with clarity and simplicity. Plenty of pages have data that has been crowbarred into something visual that really should have remained just as typed list.

Shame about the missing text that everyone has mentioned. More importantly to me (and a real editorial weakness) is the large amount of unreadable type, either white out of a black page, light coloured panels or just too tiny. Heavy use of 'Batteries Not Included Bold Condensed' and 'Prices Subject To Change Without Notice Roman' do not encourage clarity. It means I quickly turn over the page to the next diagram.

There are some fascinating visual ideas here but because they were not created for anything other than this book they lack the creative rigor that would normally be required if they were to be used in print elsewhere.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2010
The problems that affected the US version of this book called 'The Visual Miscellaneum' still exist in the UK version. Pages 60-65 do not have any labels, so they just don't make any sense. Why didn't Harper Collins have this issue corrected in the UK printing? The problem has been well reported on Amazon.com and on David McCandless's blog, so they must have known. The author has posted a PDF with the correct version of the diagrams on the Information is Beautiful blog (search for 'errata'), so at least you can see what they are supposed to look like.
33 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
Visual thought candy, perhaps a bit lacking in purpose though. This is basically a graphical form of statistics and it should always make you consider what the designer intends you to learn, versus the real situations the data come from.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2014
For the logically overloaded, such as myself, this book is a really insightful way to understand how to represent complex data comparisons. Provides some great metaphors and diagrams for inspiration in how to represent your own data.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
So the information contained in this book is fascinating, educational & ultimately beautifully presented.

However, there still seems to be errors:

1) A portion of the graphics are missing at the seam when they cover two pages. For example, page 166/167 features illegible text where the pages meet. 230/231 is also mis-matched. It's strange because it seems care has been taken to prevent this for some pages and yet not others.

2) On page 219 for 'The Future of Energy' there are text labels missing for the Geothermal & Hydroelectric images.

These errors have been noticed within 10 minutes of reading so I imagine there may be other examples too.

A real shame when the whole purpose of infographics is to present information beautifully and clearly. It taints the brilliance of this book. Would have been 5 stars otherwise.

Fingers crossed a new edition will appear that is completely correct!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)