Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
36
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£39.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 January 2016
This was for my son, who will be reading it shortly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
If you love your Arthurian Legends, you are going to love this book. The poetry is fully developed in its intricate combination of rhymes and alliterations. The complementary comments bring clarity to the original text and the different versions that never saw the light before.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
good service no problem with the item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2016
A good Xmas present speedy delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2013
I'm not accustomed to reading alliterative verse. So I can't really speak as to how well Tolkien pulled off that particular aspect of the writing.

However I can say that the story itself was engrossing and I found that the act of reading it in alliterative verse format gave it a certain quality of novelty which I found very appealing.

The only problem, which I knew going into it as the publisher makes no secret of the fact, is that the story is too short as Tolkien (like so many other works) never completed it before he died.

In my opinion a brilliant addition to any collection of Tolkien's work, or indeed of medieval literature.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
Great present, arrived quickly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
I'm only sorry that Tolkien did not finish this, but what there is of the story is gripping. Especially fine are Guenever tricking the treacherous Mordred, Lancelot pondering indecisively whether to return to England, Gawain establishing a beachhead as Arthur returns from the continent to deal with Mordred's uprising. Tolkien had a gift for composing alliterative verse. Christopher Tolkien's introduction and commentary provide valuable background information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
unusual
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse