Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 December 2013
I bought this book along with the Fellowship of the Ring and Return of the King Special Editions. The pattern on the spines of the three books match up to form an image of the White Tree of Gondor - it certainly looks good on the bookshelf!

This book is presented in a purple/red coloured cloth bound hardcover that looks both attractive and durable. Inside, the first thing you come across is a beautiful map of Middle Earth in black and white (and red) before the story continues. I won't say anything about the story itself as we all know about it and there are in depth reviews floating around on the web (both critical and applauding!). This review is for this particular edition of the book, and I think it is fantastic.

It's worth noting that this "special edition" is available as part of a box set with the other two books in the trilogy, along with a version of the Hobbit.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2003
The two towers is a wonderful book on its own with amazing songs and poetry. The characters are brought to life in this set of cds with amazing voices. The songs are not spoken but sung, the elvish is very well spoken and fluent.
You'll want to listen to the cd over and over again. Its the best thing after watching the movie. Tolkien's books are knowen to be of amazing quality and one of the best classics of all time. This is a tale for an age but will be enjoyed more when you are older when you see the real quality of this work.
This adventure starts with the departure of boromir and the chase by Aragorn, legolas and gimli to find Merry and Pippin who have been captured by orcs. It later goes on about Frodo and Sam's frantic journey to destroy the ring, they are met by a character that they do not expect...
I would recomend this as a gift to anyone as it inspires everyone who reads it and they will wish they were there.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2002
After reading the first part of 'Lord of the Rings' I imidetly started on this book.
It keeps you griped and makes you wanting to find out what happenes. The characters are beliveible and the descriptions are second to none. It is not quite as good as 'The Felloship of the Ring' but still has that toilkien magic. I would recomend it to any one who is a fan of the genre but you must read the first book before.
'The two Towers' leaves you on a chilling cliffhanger that will make you want to the start the third book stright away.
All in all a great book: 10/10
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2016
You've seen the film's but reading the book you fully appreciate the story and characters. Tolkien is a master of description and keeps it moving at a fair old pace while also not missing anything out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
First published in 1954 TheTwo Towers is the second part of the epic saga, and Tolkien's masterpiece, The Lord Of The Rings. It has been a firm favourite of mine since I first read it over 25 years ago, and every time I return to the trilogy I find something new in this multilayered and deep piece of literature. I have worked my through it again recently, and with much temerity have decided to post a review of this stand out classic of classics.

In this second part of the trilogy, the tale becomes quite complex and breaks off into several strands. We are treated to Sam and Frodo's journey towards Mordor, The advenutures of Earagorn, Legolas and Gimli as they search for Merry and Pippin, and the adventures of the two missing Hobbits themselves. Along the way we meet the riders of Rohan, the men of Minas Tirith, Ents, Saruman and many other characters. There are tales of courage, bravery, treachery, wizadry, epic battles and lonely quests. This is a book that has it all.

I find when reading this that it not just the plot that I love, but the completeness of Tolkien's world. He has developed a whole history, mythology, geography and etymology for it, all incredibly detailed. The book does not describe these in detail, but has frequent sideways references to them. This is what sets it apart from other fantasies, the feeling of a complete reality in which the adventures are taking place, a rich and textured world. This adds a depth to the books which few others can match.

In all this is a great read in it's own right, and sets everything up nicely for the third installment. It has a lot of high advenure, and Tolkien's rich multilayered tale telling. It's a classic of it's time, and has to get 5 stars.  
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2002
I loved this CD, a slightly altered version of the BBC Radio 4 dramatisation, but brilliant still. The cast bring the story to life with such care, that they bring you along with them. The voices match the characters well, and you just feel you're in Middle Earth.
The CD intersperses the Frodo & Sam aspects of the story with everyone else, which works brilliantly, helping everything comes together for a thrilling climax.
I love it!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 January 2003
After reading the fellowship before this, I was eager to start right away and indeed from the first time I picked it up I read nearly 100 pages on the first day. The journey of the fellowship is now split up and now the book divides into 2, to start with you get the story of Aragorn, Gimli and Legolas on the trail of the foul orcs that have kidnapped Merry and Pipin. And then the second half of the book picks up where Frodo and Sam left the fellowship to complete the mission on thier own, and what you get is two stories skillfully knitted together that goes completely hand in hand with the other, thanks to the clever hand of Tolkien.
The Two Towers is better than the first book, as it is here where the war for middle earth truely begins, with the traiterous Saruman creating an army through the tower of orthanc and Sauron massing an army in mordor at his tower of Barad-dur. And with this the perils of middle earth is now well exposed as the story now really kicks on at great speed from the first book and is completely emersing, as you get drawn into it, as again the vision of Tolkien is skillfully narrated once more and leads you on to the third and final part of the trilogy, the return of the king.
Quite simply a must read, even if your not a book worm yourself dont miss out on what is the greatest story ever written, I myself has never been a fan of fiction, as I tend to stay to real life stories and biographies but reading the lord of the rings has renewed my hope in fiction as I now am reading about the elder days of middle earth and I am completely amazed as to how one person could think of his own world with such imagination and yet so flawlessly.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
Given the hugely emotional and action packed ending to book one of this incredible saga, it almost feels like opposing a force of nature by not starting book two almost immediately, without even stopping to take a breath. Regardless of that, the reader will begin the story with an almost overwhelming sense of trepidation and fear for the two brave little hobbits who have so far exceeded everyone’s expectations already. The other members of the fellowship are left to support the forces of good as they battle for the soul of Minas Tirith. Frodo and Sam, however, have formed their own duology of hearts as they prepare to take on the might of Sauron and his ilk as they approach the famed cracks of Mount Doom in downtown Mordor.

One wonders at which direction Tolkien will take the mind - and the soul - of the reader in this volume. After the heart breaking beauty of Lothloriel and the soul destroying grief of the loss of a much loved party member at the legendary Bridge of Khazad-Dum, it was almost too much to bear to read of the pain inflicted on our heroes as they left the sacred home of the elves. And what an experience it was! At least as readers we can return to those pages of the book again, and again, and again whenever we feel the need to escape the torrid world of reality. So many descriptions, phrases and unexpected displays of emotion, awe, and even love almost overwhelmed the reader, despite the fact that they may well have read, and experienced, the genius of Tolkien several times in the past.

The story starts, quite literally, where volume one ended. Aragon the rest of the party are madly searching for signs of Frodo and Sam whilst simultaneously fighting off a small army of Orcs. It turns out the the hobbits were kidnapped by the Orcs and taken for questioning by Saramon. And so the hunt is on. But the mind of Aragon is just about torn in half by grief, guilt and madness as he struggles to accept recent turn of events with comrades lost in battle and much adored halflings left in his charge either taken by the enemy or lost and presumed drowned in a nearby lake. Soothing words by comrades bring sense to the man destined to rule the West and his mind is back in place as he manages to fend off madness and see the truth for what it is. Frodo and Sam have still got the ring and so Pippin and Merry need to be rescued from the ultimate forces of evil. And all of this is made clear to the reader in the space of the opening chapter!

The fields of Rohan don't have the aesthetic quality of Lothlorien, (what does, this side of Heaven?) so Mr Tolkien does not waste words (or time for that matter) telling the reader about something that is not there. The book opens at a fast pace and does not let up. Before you know, Aragorn and his party have caught the foul scent of the Orkan raiding party and hope for a happy reunion soars. Time passes, the sun rises, sets and rises again, but all to no avail. Hope for a successful rescue fade but they soon meet up and befriend the riders of Rohan and discover the foul Orcs they were searching for are slain. But where are the halfings? Are they still alive? Were they mistreated by the foul demon-spawn that are servants of Sarumon (and by extension, the Dark Lord himself?).

None of this is my place to reveal.

Read these books, you must. Even in the times of almost overwhelming darkness that befall the forces of good in this tragic, epic tale, you will find the ultimate English wordsmith crafting beauty out of the most barren of environments. And what joy do the Elves bring to any story! Legolas, he that is more of a God than an Elf, grace and bless the pages of this book like an Angel sent down from above. Drama, betrayal, even elements of the dreaded Shakespearian tragedy bloom out of the barren fields of Rohan like flower buds in the most desolate desert. Experienced fans of Mr Tolkien will recognise the fact that I am barely five percent through this fantastic tale. But i am completely hooked, and immersed, and totally in love with the world that absorbs my heart, my soul and my mind every time I turn on my kindle, or open my faded paperback copies of this classic.

Books are meant to be lived, and not just read. In Tolkien’s world, you may well live, love and die in here.

But if that is to happen to me, then I could not be happier.

BF NGreggorio!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2001
And this is one of them. The second chapter in the Lord of the rings series, the two towers is everything that J. R. R. Tolkien readers have come to expect.
The attention to detail of every aspect of Frodos contining adventure is all here. Tolkien paints a beautiful picture of middle earth, right down to each indivudal blade of grass.
If you have read the Hobbit and the Fellowship of the rings, then this is definatly your next book. If you haven't read the Hobbit and fellowship of the ring, then read them and then make this your next book...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2016
The Two Towers is the second of the three books in the Lord of the Rings trilogy, and in many ways I thought it was the weakest – the story line seems to slow down, and whilst plenty of stuff does still happen, it has the atmosphere of a book which is just waiting for something to happen. In The Fellowship of the Ring, it was like a traditional, party-based adventure, and in Return of the King, it’s all-out open war. Here, there’s something in between, and even the members of the Fellowship are scattered throughout Middle Earth, engaged in different story lines.

Still, it all comes together in the end, and you can never complain too much about Tolkien because he’s the master of a genre. Sure, his writing can be difficult to focus on times, and The Two Towers is no exception, but it is worth sticking with throughout, even if it takes you several months to finish it, which was the case for me. I was about fourteen at the time, and so perhaps I was a little too young – I certainly find Tolkien easier to read as an adult, and I’ve always been a keen reader.

The good thing about The Two Towers is that you get to meet a bunch of new characters, although I don’t want to tell you too much about them because, in many ways, I might leak a spoiler. What I can say, though, is that you’ll get to see more from your favourite characters, as well as from some newbies that will be in the rest of the series to different degrees.

You should also avoid reading the Lord of the Rings books out of chronological order – they follow on from each other perfectly, and indeed you can almost take them all together as one single work, which just happened to be published in different editions. You don’t need to read The Hobbit before getting started though – they operate within the same continuum, but can be taken individually.

I’m not sure what more there is to say about The Two Towers – I gave it a 7/10, which means that it’s of a professional quality, but I just didn’t think it was as good as either of the other two books in the trilogy, or even of some of Tolkien’s other work. But it is a necessary book – it had to happen to make the Lord of the Rings what it was, and I’m still glad that I’ve read it. Even if it did take ages to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse