Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
34
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Board book|Change
Price:£22.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2013
I love all things Tolkien. I first read the Hobbit in the late 60's during my Army days whist on active service. It used to help me wind down from the long hours on duty.
Since then I have read most of his wonderful books. And some I have read several times and still keep coming back for more.
This Book is a large volume and is beautifully constructed. It is one of a series of books dealing with different aspects of the film.
This volume deals with the Creatures and Characters you will meet in the film.
Each Creature or Character is described in detail with lots of wonderful photographs showing how they came to be brought to life.
This is a Must Have book for both Book and Film fans alike.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Excellent book, the information and pictures on the creatures and characters draws you in to believing that they and Middle - earth really exit.
The comments from those involved in the trilogy was good to hear. Format and content are great the look and layout as been well thought out. I can't remember anything as enjoyable to look at and read. All I can say is Thank You to all those who where involved in the film and putting these books together, nothing to dislike .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
Stunning illustration's and very interesting to see concept of creatures& Characters behind the Hobbit An Unexpected Journey Film A must buy for a Hobbit fan .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
This book is fantastic, just as good as the first one, so if you liked that then buy this! My only very small issue with the book itself is that it only has one insert, at the back, to do with the comparative size of Middle Earth creatures, whereas Chronicles: Art & Design had two, front and back.
It's just such a shame that Amazon still haven't sorted out the problem with the prices as the more expensive one is exactly the same as this much cheaper one, so only buy the cheapest! I paid £14. If you did however buy the more expensive one, fool of a Took!, then just contact Amazon and they'll probably refund you the difference, they did for me when I made that mistake buying the first book.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
 Weta is an amazing company that does most of the design work on the "Hobbit" films. They do everything from practical effects (prosthetics to miniatures) to digital effects (CGI simulations and character animation). It's important to note that the people that work on these films are not only master technicians, but they are very creative artists as well.

This is the second book in what will be a 6-book series of Weta's chronicles of the Hobbit trilogy. The first book featured the production design and concept art of "An Unexpected Journey"; this book focuses particularly on the characters and creatures of that film. It's a expansive look at the character designs in the film.

There are plenty of high quality images that fans of the film will be interested in -- conceptual artwork of the creature designs; character portraits; photos of the makeup application; etc. The books goes in depth about every aspect of visual characterization, but particular emphasis is placed on the makeup and hair work.

I highly recommend this book (and its companion books as well). As someone who enjoyed the Tolkien novel, I find it fascinating to see how the filmmakers and the creative team took what was on the page and translated it visually into a movie - and I'm happy to own a book that provides an inside look at that process.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The first Hobbit Chronicles book looks at the art and design. This second volume looks at how these characters are then created, through make-up or digitally.

You get to see Bilbo, Gandalf, dwarves (again), Thorin, orcs, trolls, eagles, giants, goblins and their king, oversized rabbits, Radagast's hedgehog friend, Stone Giants and the Gollum. Oh, no dragon, not yet.

The book's filled with highly detailed pictures, film stills and behind-the-scenes photographs. There are pictures of the cast working with silicone hand and leg prosthetics, make-up process, sculptures of dwarves, 3D models and more. The book's back has a scale size chart that's helpful at showing all the characters relative to each other.

There are interviews with the actors and the many staff that worked on the set. The extensive writeup talks about the challenges of creating these characters and creatures, getting them to move, the accents and language, the digital effects and the 3D models. It's fun reading about the film production from the first person account.

You get a good idea the amount of effort put in to create a film like this. Even for the 3D models created, they did not just model the muscles but also all the bones within even though they are not going to be seen on screen.

It's a really informative book packed with content.

Highly recommended to fans of the film.

(See more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
As someone who is absolutely obsessed with anything to do with Middle Earth this art book (and the rest in the series) are like a gift from Heaven! The paper is high quality and glossy and all of the images are crystal clear HD. The book is well written and is divided into sections on how each creature was designed and provides lots of behind the scenes details. I find myself coming back to this book time and again and always finding something new.
I cannot reccomebd this enough to both fans of the films and the books!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
It is a brilliant book, looks and feels well made and a worthy companion on the shelf for the first book.
However, I was quite disappointed there were no pencil drawings and designs that populated the first book. This one is illustrated with screenshots from the movie and photographs with an exception of drawn images in the last unfolding page.

It arrived in couple of days on super saver delivery, well packed and in perfect condition.

5 stars for the packaging, seller and value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
If you loved the Unexpected Journey with all its various characters and if ať thesame time you craved to get to know them even letter, this is simple a must for you.
With excellent illustrations (both photos, sketches and computer models) and a health of "inside information" this book will tell you all you wanted to know about the Hobbit, but were afraid to ask.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse