Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 23 August 2015
When all the evidence points in one direction and the Detective in charge of the investigation can feel the evil emanating from his main suspect, it should be a simple matter to join the dots and make all the right connections to be able to take the said suspect off the streets. This killer seems to be going out of his way to make himself known to the Police but never leaving any trace of himself as evidence. The investigation here is very thorough but perhaps limited in its scope. The team is working well together, all following up different angles, but one of them is looking to be the one who gets any relevant information first and uses his connections to do so, another is following up on leads which have generated further leads but without necessarily feeding back the resulting information in a timely manner. Despite all of that, I liked the sense of purpose of the team working together and the DI using his connections to get in on the ground floor of the investigations into murders which occur in locations which come under a different division. There is some good lateral thinking and by being methodical they make connections where none might otherwise have been made. This helps them to establish a pattern, or lack thereof, which nonetheless helps them to make the necessary links. Added to all of this is an uncanny ability on the part of DI Sean Corrigan to get inside the mind of the killer and to think like him which is both a blessing and a curse, as, he is not only able to pick up on clues but also leads him to fixate on one person.
This is a well put together story which has an almost mesmeric quality as it keeps the reader gripped with a slight sense of unease, and a desire to go on reading in order to get through the next disturbing passage and hope to gain more insight. Although the investigation is primarily led by DI Corrigan, the team which he works with is well described. There is a twist at the end of the novel which neatly sets up the potential for a further book in a series. I found it hard to put down and would have happily continued reading for many more hours.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
What can i say.. Brilliant.

This author has really pulled it off with this story, just brilliant, I read a few reviews on how people knew who it was early on,,, I didn't lol
Brilliant twists and turns and gripping throughout.

DI Sean Corrigan - a police officer like no other.

This is Luke Delaney's Debut Crime novel, a perfect read for any Crime fiction fans. The good thing about only just reading this book is the fact i can go right to the next one as soon as i want, i dont need to wait for it coming out.

Well done Luke. I will be reading more from this author.

It's quite scary when you think about it---where do the authors get the ideas for books like this..

Terrifyingly authentic, London-set debut crime novel with a psychological edge, by an ex-Met detective. Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Stuart MacBride.
DI Sean Corrigan is not like other detectives. The terrible abuse he suffered in childhood hasn't stopped him enjoying family life with his wife and two daughters, or pursuing an impressive career with South London's Murder Investigation Unit. But it has left him with an uncanny ability to identify the darkness in others - a darkness he recognises still exists deep within his own psyche and battles to keep buried there. Now Sean's on the trail of the most dangerous killer he's ever encountered. The perpetrator has no recognisable MO, leaves no forensic evidence and his victims have nothing in common. But Sean knows they were all murdered by the same man. Now all he has to do is find the evidence, convince his bosses and stop the killing ...before his adversary gets too close to home.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
Headline says it all really. It was gripping in some places, and very fast-paced throughout, which pulls you into the story and keeps you turning pages. Which, if that's what you're after, then it's a great book for that purpose. However, don't expect to find anything new in here. The characters are some of the flattest, most two-dimensional individuals you'll ever come across in fiction. Clichés abound in this book, and there is very little originality in both the story or the characters. It's all been done before a million times over. And the 'twist' is obvious a mile off.

But for many, that's okay - it was an entertaining read that kept me occupied during a holiday, and for that purpose it suits just fine. Just don't go expecting any groundbreaking novelty - it's not a terrible book, but it's not great either - it's just okay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2016
A good crime thriller. I read a lot of these books and am pleased to see what I hope is the start of a new series. The only reason for 3 instead of 4 stars is that it has very graphic violent scenes which I found I had to skip over. While violence is to be expected in this genre I once again wonder if these type of books should have a warning about extremely violent content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
Excellent thriller-twists and turns and you like the detectives in charge of the case.

I read the kindle book in 3 days as I really could not put it down and as I only read at night just before I retire, well you can imagine I had 3 very late nights.

A really good buy and I have put the author down on my wish list for the second novel re the same detectives but it is not due out until September. Cannot wait.

Malcolm Jones
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
Bought this paperback for mum who told me just how good this author is. So bought kindle version myself. Interesting, detailed, well written and frightening currently reading Book 2 which continues in the same vein. An author who writes books that can't be put down, just one more chapter.........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
If crime writing was an Olympic sport , u sir .. Mr Luke Delaney would win GOLD ! Fantastic , fast paced , never a dull moment in this amazing crime novel . Great likable characters , I kinda guessed who the baddie was but was still slightly uncertain to the very end . A great who done it . Loved it , a well deserved 5 stars :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
Four stars first time I've heard of this author found the story line slow at first but then once i got into it I really enjoyed it and will recommend to my friends
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Sorry, wasn't keen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
Brilliant read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse