Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
231
4.1 out of 5 stars
A Perfectly Good Man
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 18 August 2017
this is a bit like reading a jigsaw puzzle. you know in the end that all the pieces will fit together and yhe story will be complete. the characters feel real, the way they interact. I've met them all in real life People really are complicated, hide themselves from others and are often more than they first seem and life does take some time to become good.
tip. when you read this simply relate everyone's age to Barnby. Then it all fits together easily.
Thanks Patrick for a brilliant novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2017
Slow, difficult to piece story together through changing narrative viewpoints. Does not have the force of A Place Called Winter which I could hardly put down. In a real sense nothing much happens in this book which is the whole point of it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
We read this for book club and it provoked a long and varied discussion. In this dysfunctional family you encounter a whole swathe of life 'traumas' suicide, lesbianism, divorce, adultery, death, but somehow there is little emotion. You never really get to find out what the characters feel about anything. The main character's story is told in reverse, interspersed with the other characters in historic order. That device seemed a bit contrived at times, and I kept wondering if it wouldn't have been better (if not quite so 'clever') to just tell the narrative straight.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 March 2015
I have read nearly all Gale's books, following his career with interest over many years. I especially enjoyed his latest, A Place Called Winter. But this novel is a let-down. The characters do not engage and the structure is irritating, almost wilfully so, as the reader struggles to figure out what time period each chapter is set in.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
A Cornish setting again from Gale, which I must admit is why I initially chose to read his work. This has captured West Penwith beautifully, the ambiance and characters are perfect. Once again he covers areas of life that may have touched some of our lives and stir memories that lay hidden.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2016
Definitely a book to stick with, as it wanders all over the place in time, but by doing so links characters and makes sense of the events in it. For a mature reader with staying power!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2017
Great read.Have never read a duff novel by this extremely talented writer Patrick Gale. Have just ordered three more of his novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
This is a wonderful read the way the book looks at each character is genuis a beautiful experience take it away on holiday .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
Another book that I bought at the suggestion of a friend. Patrick Gale is a masterly writer and his books are like jigsaws which give you all the pieces, in the wrong order and allow you to put the story together. They are tight and well-written and a thoroughly good read.

I can do no more than recommend them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
This was an easy read but beautifully written and carefully structured, rather like a fascinating literary jigsaw. Honest, human, uplifting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here