Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
21
4.1 out of 5 stars
Insatiable
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 October 2010
Meena hates vampires. They're ruining her life.

First, they invade her work. Meena doesn't get the promotion to head writer she's been hoping to achieve. Then they announce the popular daytime drama will be adding a vampire storyline to compete with its major competition.

Second, there's a serial killer on the loose, leaving dead female bodies drained of their blood in the various parks of New York City.

Third, Meena goes out to walk her dog, Jack Bauer, in the middle of the night. She's attacked by numerous bats, but protected by a mysterious man. She almost thinks she dreamed this late night incident.

Fourth, she starts dating this man after meeting him again at a party, only to discover he's a vampire prince - ruler of all vampires. She discovers the truth about her boyfriend after a member of Palatine, Alaric Wolf, comes to warn her and worm his whereabouts out of her. She refuses to give up his location, even when she realizes that he IS the prince of darkness.

Lucien, despite his family history, seems to love Meena and wants to protect her. However, Alaric Wolf can't stand by and let that happen. He's determined to rescue Meena if it's the last thing he does.

When she puts everything together, Meena's seriously annoyed, but with a vampire war looming, which side will she end up on?

I LOVED this book. Meena is sweet with a wicked sense or humor, snarky, and feisty. Plus, she has a secret where she can see how people are going to die. Her vampire romance is sexy and sweet. Lucien's one part charming and one part dangerous. Wolf is amusing. Meena's vampire neighbors are hilarious - always causing a ruckus in the vampire world, all in the name of matchmaking. All in all, it's a charming, sexy read full of romance, danger, protective men, and one kick-butt heroine.

While this is an adult novel, I think some older teens will naturally gravitate towards it because it's Meg Cabot - and also vampires!

Reviewed by: Jennifer Rummel
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
...Somebody needs to SMACK that God.Damned. brother of hers!!! MAN! I swear he is, hands down, the single most annoying character I have ever seen. EVER! Those who have read as far as page 391-2 know what I'm talking about. That stupidity of his was the last straw. With a brother like that......Jesus. On more than one occasion, I seriously wanted to kick that imbecile into next year. He is an idiot.

Still, it takes skill to create characters that make a reader want to take violent physical action against them as if they actually existed - I'll give the author that - I cannot remember a being of fiction ever having crawled along my very last nerve.

Having said that - I'm actually enjoying this book and will definitely be buying the next one after I finish it in the next couple of hours or so. I haven't found an author with this writing style in a while (one gets bored of 1st person narrative) and it kind of reminds me (in a mild, indirect way, before someone decides to stone me for the linkage) of J R Ward (no, I am not referring to Ward's hot bed scenes), whom I LOVE btw. I'm looking forward to reading more of Meg Cabot. :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2011
I listened to "Insatiable" on my iPod, and must say that I really liked it! Meena is a great heroine, both witty and charming. Vampire Lucien was suitably brooding, vampire hunter Alaric was to-die-for (pun intended) and the supporting characters are also likable.

"Insatiable" is a humorous look at the current obsession with vampires --- whether it's in books, on television or in movies. Despite that, though, I wouldn't classify this book as your typical "Paranormal Romance" book. Both the story idea and execution are different from most books in that genre, and I actually found that very refreshing.

The book has a "real" ending (no cliffhanger) and yet it does a good job at setting up the sequel (which will be released in summer 2011). The love triangle isn't resolved in this book, and I'm looking forward to finding out how Meena will deal with her two very different suitors.

Another reviewer here called the book "Twilight for Adults", but I don't agree with that. The only similarity between "Insatiable" and "Twilight" is that there are vampires in both books --- that's it.

One note regarding the audio book --- I don't remember the name of the woman who read it, but she did a really great job! Her voice kinda sounds like that of the actress Anne Hathaway, and I'm pretty sure that is to blame for me seeing Ms. Hathaway as Meena in my mind (she'd actually be really great for the role if they ever make a movie out of the book) ... ;o)
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
I really enjoyed reading Meg Cabot's Abandon so I was looking forward to this book, especially after reading its intriguing synopsis. It certainly didn't disappoint because it was a fantastic read!

I know there are many people who are fed up with the whole vampire scene but I still love it, every new vampire story I get stuck into just completely captures my imagination and I struggle to stop reading. This book was no different, it was addictive and nail-biting with so many twists and turns that kept me on the edge of my seat. I'm pretty sure you can guess that I read this in just one day so it will be joining the ever-growing one-day read list.

Meena was a very interesting character, she had a fascinating yet cruel ability where she could see how people were going to die. From the very first chapter it's clear that she sees this ability as a curse and it's very obvious why - my heart sank as I read the last sentence of the first chapter. She soon found herself in the middle of something that was both exciting and scary at the same time, I don't think she realised what she had gotten herself into until it was too late!

I really liked Alaric the vampire hunter, he was a lonely but short-tempered character and I just enjoyed the part he played in the book. I particularly enjoyed his first meeting with Meena and her brother Jon, it was funny to me because I could picture the craziness of that moment so vividly in my mind.

I had very mixed feelings towards the vampires in this book, I just couldn't decide if I liked them or not. Lucien in particular was difficult to figure out, even after I had finished reading I didn't feel sure about his intentions.

Each chapter started with the time, date and location - I really liked this because it made it easier for me to keep up with the story.

The ending was unexpected in a good way, I thought certain things were going to happen and they didn't so I am looking forward to reading the next book Overbite to find out what happens next.

This is a dark and alluring vampire tale that had me hooked from the start.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
To start with I am a huge Fan of the adult fiction Meg Cabot has written, I loved the Heather Wells mysteries and the queen of babble series. So when I came across this book I nearly couldn't contain myself (I do like a good vampire that doesn't sparkle). I read it on the way to work, on my way home, on my lunch break and after I put the children to bed, I just couldn't put it down. I am now eagerly awaiting the next book which I have pre-ordered.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2016
I was really looking forward to reading Insatiable. The last book I read was just awful, badly written badly everything. I was really looking forward to a fun sardonic romp around to remind me of why I love reading.

Insatiable is so much more than a romp though. I was so geared to have some good laugh out loud moments and enjoy some serious silliness, but I was expecting to promptly forget most of it, as you do with lite reads, to just be left with a good-will feeling. I laughed certainly, but I’m not going to forget Insatiable in a hurry, I know it’s supposed to be a roast of Vampire romance books and Vampire culture, but it actually does the job better than any of the other books I’ve read in the genre.

Let’s start with the main character, Meena, who I love. She’s sassy, sarcastic, spritely and pro-actively sexy, something you don’t see often portrayed in leading females. Now I have used an avalanche of alliteration to praise her I will simply say if you have a weakness for character arcs you should read this book, Meena makes a butt load of mistakes, and grows like a champion. It’s imperative you see her journey through to the end. And, let’s be honest, who can’t love a heroine who assumes the big reveal, that her love interest is a Vampire, is a very strange joke?

It’s not just Meena, the whole cast is well thought out and, most importantly, funny. Special mentions must go to Alaric Wulf the Vampire Hunter, who grumbles throughout and makes snide comments about Vampires interior decorating tastes. Secondly Mary Lou, the next door neighbor who everyone assumes is too stupid to be clued in on anything and yet knows more than most of the characters who consider themselves on the ball. And Jack Baur the cock-blocking dog.

No book with these elements can be bad, it’s simply fact.

Now, without wishing to spoil, (but I must say as it was one of my favorite parts of the book) I must say how surprised I was by how things played out. I don’t mean plot wise, Insatiable is one of those fabulous experiences that expects you to work out whats going on long before the characters do so you can yell the answers at the top of your voice to no avail. No, I mean character arcs and developments. Some real missteps are thrown in there and it really put the proverbial cherry on the whole experience for me.

I’ve been a fan of Meg Cabot since I was a teenager, anyone whose read anything of hers will know her writing isn’t exactly complex – but it is good. Insatiable was a fantastically fun read, and I’d recommend it to anyone who knows how to laugh. The worst thing I could possibly say about it is the moment I finished I went on Amazon to buy book two, and it’s ruined my recommendation list by filling it with Twilight knock-offs.

You can find my other review at: [...]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2012
Oh I do adore Meg Cabot. I was all set with my skepticism over Insatiable, Meg Cabot's adult book which is the first in a series about vampires. But I don't know why I was doubting, it's Meg Cabot, so I found the story and the characters to be funny and strange and completely unexpected.

There is a lot of people completely tired of vampires. Those people include Meena Harper, dialogue writer for a very popular and ongoing soap opera. Meena Harper has a very special gift, one that allows her to know when other people are going to die. This is a gift she hides from most people because no one ever believes her. Instead, she goes out of her way to help strangers on the subway and gives subtle advice, hoping that the people she comes into contact with listen and are able to save their own lives.

But something Meena has never been able to do is see into her own future. Which is why she isn't prepared at all for Lucien Antonescu, the prince of vampires that Meena quickly falls in love with.

I've always enjoyed Meg Cabot's novels. It took me awhile to get into Insatiable and I found myself frustrated in the beginning with the multiple perspectives because I couldn't quite see how Alaric, the vampire hunter, fit into the storyline. I didn't care for the suddeness of both Meena and Lucien declaring love for each other, though I'm sure that was intentional. I thought the ending went a bit far and I was left open-mouthed in shock. But still, I couldn't put the book down for anything. And despite my misgivings about certain aspects of the book, I'm still determined and intrigued to know where this story will go!

I found Meena's character (as well as several of the other supporting characters) to be really funny, and I loved the inclusion of soap operas into the storyline. I hope that continues, though it seems unlikely. There's some brilliant references to other popular vampires in literature and television that made me smile. I ended up forgiving Alaric for his shaky start into the story and I think Lucien has some hidden depths that I wouldn't mind exploring more in the next book.

Really, I just think that I'd read and love most anything by Meg Cabot! I loved the mixture in this book of romance, humour and plenty of action.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2012
"Sick of hearing about vampires? So is Meena Harper. But her bosses are making her write about them anyway, even though Meena doesn't believe in them. Not that Meena isn't familiar with the supernatural. See, Meena Harper knows how you're going to die. (Not that you're going to believe her. No one ever does.) But not even Meena's precognition can prepare her for what happens when she meets - then makes the mistake of falling in love with - Lucien Antonescu, a modern-day prince with a bit of a dark side. It's a dark side a lot of people, like an ancient society of vampire hunters, would prefer to see him dead for. The problem is, Lucien's already dead. Maybe that's why he's the first guy Meena's ever met whom she could see herself having a future with. See, while Meena's always been able to see everyone else's future, she's never been able to look into her own. And while Lucien seems like everything Meena has ever dreamed of in a boyfriend, he might turn out to be more like a nightmare. Now might be a good time for Meena to start learning to predict her own future... If she even has one."

Please don't be put off by the very unfortunate cover design, nor any fear that this book may be yet another version of True Blood (vampires, girl with a supernatural power). Meg Cabot has brilliantly managed to give us a thoroughly enjoyable vampire tale whilst at the same time gently mocking the genre through the eyes and voice of her characters.

I found the book perfectly paced and hard to put down. All characters are engaging, believable and interesting. Dialogue is snappy and witty, and almost ideal for a movie version being developed from it. Although the book is aimed at adults, older teenagers will find great enjoyment in it, without their innocence (yeah, right) being corrupted too much.

If I would have to come up with one criticism, it would have to be this: Senor Sticky?!? Meg Cabot, pleeeeease.....!!!

I've only just found out that there's a sequel to this on the market and have already ordered it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
Cabot is an experienced writer, clearly at the height of her powers. It takes a lot of skill to take the vampire sub-genre and gently parody the more gothic aspects, while at the same time producing a gripping, convincing adventure tale in the same genre. The vampires are nicely handled – and while there is an undercurrent of fun, particularly at the expense of the lantern-jawed hero Alaric Wulf, chief vampire-slayer of the Palatine Guard, once the action starts, there was plenty of tension and gore. The sub-plot provides a lot of the fun. Meena is a script writer for a long-running soap that is suffering from falling ratings, so the studio have come up with the idea of introducing a vampire storyline, to Meena’s intense disgust. She thinks the whole notion of vampires is so lame and ridiculous…

There is also delightful cast of characters around the three main characters, Meena, Lucien and Alaric. My particular favourites are the eccentric neighbouring couple Mary Lou and Emil and Meena’s clueless brother Jon, as well as Meena’s vampire-hating dog, Jack Baur. And yes… there is a thing going on with names in this book. For those of you who don’t know, Jonathan Harper is the narrator and protagonist in Bram Stoker’s Dracula and Mina is the name of his fiancée who suffers the attentions of Dracula.

This could all have disintegrated into a pretentious, lumpen mess, but with Cabot at the helm, the result is memorably enjoyable, with plenty of thrills and action garnished with a helping of fun. Every time I recall the book, I find myself grinning. If you enjoy urban fantasy with a dollop of humour, track this down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2014
While I love the rest of her books, I have been putting off reading this for ages. I enjoy vampire lore books and teenage love stories, but this book is missing something. I don't know whether it is that I don't really like the main girl. She makes silly decisions, and despite saying she is selfless for her family and friend. There are numerous times where she chooses her own pleasures instead. Adding a bit of soft core porn doesn't stop this being teenage vampire book either. As always the character is perfect and the and the female is small fragile and on so adorable.
I really thought Meg Cabot would change this story up a little. Maybe a different storyline that is a little bit more original.
It is still that much readable and the writing is also slighty funny. But this book is over 500 pages, about the same as Dracula. So read that instead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse