Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
322
4.6 out of 5 stars
Mere Christianity (C. S. Lewis Signature Classic) (C. Lewis Signature Classic)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 21 October 2017
As an atheist who has seen first hand all the good Christian values have brought to societies, I was expecting something that would bridge the gap between my thinking this was more out of the innate good in men and the impact of "god" in this outcome. With the lateral thinking in this book, you find you're met half way, some perspectives given lead some credence to the argument of a creator, though some come across as a little holier than thou. Overall a good argument for the Christian way of life for those already converted, a little preachy for those who aren't.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
As a historical document I think it gives a very valuable insight into the way people thought during WWII and the immediate post-war period. As an apologetic I think it is far less effective today. I think that someone like G.B. Caird, an Oxford don, who was his contemporary, make a far more effective case for Christianity entitled The Truth of Christianity which was published in 1962. I think that Lewis' children's book are a far more effective apologetic today.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
Despite being over 60 years old, this book is still a highly relevant and useful book for Christians today. CS Lewis was a great writer and through the course of the book shares some very valuable insights. He first covers his reasons for his faith, which is a very interesting couple of chapters. Over the rest of the book, he discusses what Christianity is, and what it does (or should) mean, and the impact it has (or should have) on those who profess to believe it. Some challenging material, and some brilliant insights on a wide selection topics. Highly recommended for all Christians.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2016
Despite a few dated references it is quite incisive. I was expecting it to be intellectually flabby but far from it. This is an illuminating book. Deceptively accessible, it challenges the reader with what could be called "No Nonsense Christianity".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
A stunning piece of writing. However, I will qualify that statement by pointing out that I gave this book five stars because it is a veritable treasure trove which contains many excellent examples of the use of logical fallacies and other manipulative techniques. Bald assertions? Check. False dilemmas? Check. In group, out group? Check. And many more besides.

C. S. Lewis was undoubtedly a skilled communicator, but the contents of Mere Christianity cast doubt on his integrity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2016
Just my first read through and I have to read it again. So much to digest but, it feels like a big step along the path to understanding.
CS Lewis has if you like, simplified Christianity, for me at least. I want to have the real book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
A book that explains the uniqueness of the Christian faith and it's relevance for today. The writer seeks to explain in simple yet wonderful logic of the nature of man and God. It may not answer all the question, but it's goes a long way to give a reason for the hope that a Christian has in Christ. If read with an open heart and mind it will challenge yet point to Jesus Christ, asking the reader the atheists the agnostic or who so ever to make a choice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
This classic in understandable Christian literature,outlining the essence of what it is to be a Christian believer,will never be anachronistic.It always speaks to us.My own copy,first bought in the 60s is tatty beyond repair, but I bought this new copy,because I want a dear friend who is very guarded about Christian belief and practice,to grasp,from a fresh perspective,what the fundamentals of Christianity,might be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
C. S. Lewis knows how to make a point and has a great way of putting things across. Sometimes he can be hard to understand but with this book I've found it easy to follow and found it challenging yet encouraging. Definitely a nice little gem to have in the house, buy it! :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2016
Excellent book. I tried to read it many years ago as a young Christian and found it too deep and hard to understand. Now as I am mature it seems to be easy to understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)