Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Martine McCutcheon Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2014
I've read all the books so far in this series.. brilliant! Absolutely gripping story, impossible to put down until finished.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
I read it page after page without break. So unexpected situations. Highly recommend. I can not wait to read the next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2014
What more can honestly come from these books that just grip you and leave you thinking what next can't wait fir the next one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
This whole collection is brilliant and gets better and better. I really enjoyed this latest book and have ordered the next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2014
Not read yet but love the tv series so am looking forwards to reading the books soon
recommend to any one liking series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
Haven't seen the series4 yet, but thoroughly enjoyed reading this in advance even though I know what the punch line will be
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2006
Having finally got round to picking up this book - and its predecessors - from my stacked shelves, I have read the whole series back to back in a short space of time. So perhaps my perspective is rather different to those who have waited for years for this book, only to have been disappointed at its lack of zing that the earlier titles had.

In my view the book is of a different pace to the others, its slower, it spends much more time on characters who arent doing a great deal, and has a lot more sedate plot revelation too.

Which if you squint probably says, its much ado about nothing. However, it does give you nice characterisations of the various people in the world, it shows you how they are thinking, the choices they are making, and you can slowly see why things are working out the way they are, because those people are the way they are. This book is certainly more about a character driven story than an event driven story - its balance is subtly different to the earlier books.

Taken on its own I think the book would be rather dry and probably boring. However its not on its own, and you know the landscape and the characters well from the other books, and as such its a more intimate glimpse into what makes them tick, and the trials and inner demons they face, and so, I think if you really like the world and characters present in this series, this book is a good, albeit differently paced, addition to the set.

For me personally I love the detail of the politics and interplay between characters, its so rarely done in fantasy books, which often just wheel out archetypes doing and saying the same old mush in a new set of clothes within a background of oddly drawn maps inside the front cover.

Hoorah for no "real" knights, and the assassin that goes bump in the night.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
A very exciting easy to feel with the each character either love or dislike and sorrow willing some characters to survive
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
my husband loved this christmas present he has read all the other books that have already been written. he was very happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2016
Great book continuing a fantastic storyline. Much better than tv series.

Arrived swiftly in excellent condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse