Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2017
God I love these books! Pure brilliance, amazing story written to perfection! Can't rate this high enough!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
The finale in the journey of this trilogy, I have truly enjoyed these books to the fullest and the journey of the Prince to a King, to an Emperor, these books are a high recommend and I am sure if you pick up this series you will enjoy it from start to end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
i never read anything as bad as this in my life .... such waste on paper and money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2016
I thoroughly enjoyed all 3 books. Very original, gripping read. It's unusual to start off disliking the main character to such an extent but it works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
Great series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
This is a fitting end to a superb series. And yes it really is the end. (Of course I want more however there is something deeply satisfying in having a finish line here. It was right.)

It's five years after Jorg defeated the Prince of Arrow's army. Miana, his queen, is expecting their first child and the interregnum is ... Well uninterrupted. But there is a pressing need for an emperor on the throne, for the broken empire to be mended. The dead king is rising and his armies are on the move...

I could rave on about this book, this whole series for pages and pages but I wouldn't do it justice. Read it for yourself. In fact if you haven't read the first two, acquire them and set time aside. You're in for a treat.

It's rare to find a fantasy series without a weak moment. Rarer still to find a fantasy trilogy that doesn't suffer from middle book syndrome. This delivers every dark promise it hints at and more besides. I love the threads of necromancy, quantum mechanics and dystopian fiction running through this. All woven together so skillfully that it's absolutely right for all those disparate elements to sit side by side.

Most of all I love Jorg as a protagonist. Surely one of the best drawn fantasy characters ever. A portrait of change is always difficult to pull off convincingly. Hats off to Mr Lawrence who has done all that and more.

This is the kind of book that you can't stop reading but will leave you feeling lost when you've finished it.

If a greater number of stars had been an option I would have applied them. Truly awesome.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Once more Lawrence had me stay up to finish a book since I was "nearly" finished. Loved every moment of it and Jorg was Jorg as always, epicness in a tin. A bitter sweet ending but immensely well done, Lawrence pulls off which a lot of people are trying and badly failing at.

Will miss Jorg and hope the next books are every bit as good. Instant preorders.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
A thoroughly grim but fitting end to an exceptional trilogy, the final book in the broken empire series is everything that you would hope a grand finale to be, Mark Lawrence manages to build the tension and still lets Jorg shock with his brutal but effective strategy. One of the best series of books I have read in some time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
A brilliant conclusion to a great series.

Jorg continues to grow develop and win his way.

Thank you Mark Lawrence
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2014
fantastic - really enjoyable read and good ending!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse