Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
102
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 June 2017
A seriously excellent read. Once I started this book, I couldn't put it down. What Nabila and possibly many other children, went or are, going through is heartbreaking. To write a book like this, that is so honest yet terrifying, is truly inspirational. I would definitely recommend this book and really hope the author writes a 2nd book to bring us up to date with how she has moved forward.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Not sure about this book I read it very quickly it is an easy read but ended to quick for me kind of left wondering is she happy now? Did she get married? Have a family?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
Avery interesting read though shocking ! The abuse that goes on in these places you would never believe ,what youngsters went through , to frightened to tell !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
Great book on subj a sentive subject and such courage could not put it down. Highly recommend a . Must buy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2016
A fairly good read. The way some of the book was written I found a little poor but the story was quite gripping. I don't feel the book was written as well as some others I've read such as 'The Boy Called It.'
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2016
Very sad and real. Found it disturbing in every sense of the word.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2012
This is a very well-written book which describes the suffering of the author as a young girl in graphic detail.A real page-turner,it becomes ever more shocking with every paragraph as one shares the horror & revulsion the author feels as she is molested by the grotesque Iman of her local mosque. From his hot,stinking breath, his dirty finger-nails and the love bites he leaves on her tiny body, her vividly recalled memories evoke an horrific picture of an innocence lost & betrayed.

No child should be subjected to the systematic sexual abuse that the author went through for five years from the age of seven from a person in such a position of responsibility. Worse, the terrifying events also damaged her relationship with her parents and wrecked her self-esteem. A subsequent relationship with a violent boyfriend and a threat to her life from those who should have supported her, makes for compelling, but uncomfortable reading. Thank goodness she has finally found the courage to expose the injustice against her and has set in motion events which will hopefully lead to the arrest and punishment of the man who stole her childhood.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
What this girl went through was so sad. Yet she survived and I admire her for that. Who needs family.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
This book is okay to read it does he upsetting in the book, but you feel you have o read on to see the end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
This true story is about a girl who suffered sexual abuse by a religious teacher within the local community, self harm and neglect. Nabila writes about the fear she lived in and of the repercussions she feared. It took me 2 days reading this book and it left me somewhat angry and sad but happy that the author has finally found the strength and empowerment to write about what happened to her. An easy to read book but not easy to stomach, was totally engrossed!

Too often you hear of sexual predators within certain communities who are excused for their behaviours and too often do they use the mask of religion or culture to cover their abuse, be it religious leaders, imans, priests or rabbis. In an era of safeguarding children, I hope this true story lends itself to those to have kids or work with kids to ensure that they don't come to harm but also I hope true stories like this give courage to those who suffer in silence.

Thanks Nabila for sharing your story frankly and honestly, I hope you are finding justice and action is being taken!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)