Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
53


on 14 November 2012
One of the most important historical records of man's inter-dependence, on each other and the land that they share. Many insights into the driving forces and natural governors that shape civilised societies organisation. The link from animal to humanity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2013
An excellent overview of the story of St Kilda, a very well written and researched book that presents the differing perspectives and motives behind the actions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2016
fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2015
Extremely interesting book. Not sort of book I usually read but thoroughly enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2015
Brilliant book very thought provoking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2013
Having recently visited St.Kilda I needed to know about the history of it, and the style of life of the inhabitants. This book satisfied all those desires and had me enthralled from the moment I opened it up. The black and white photos set the scene and confirmed the aura of mystery that I felt while there. The way of life on this island was unique and they had inherited their own culture. The moment i stepped on the jetty I felt that place was something on the edge of the world, not to be found elsewhere. It was moving to notice that we all spoke in hushed tones while walking through the Village and especially in the grave yard. I have in the meanwhile read a couple of other books about this special place and will remain full of admiration for the inhabitants for their way of life. To be recommended for all would be visitors - not an easy place to get to but there are the ways and means. And thanks to Amazon for their speedy delivery of the book and for others that followed.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2012
Having had the good fortune to visit St. kilda in 2007, Tom Steel's Book brought back memories of those amazing islands and the way of life for those living on St.Kilda.

It also answered some of the questions that the visit had left with me.

"A must read" for those that have ever been, or contemplate going, to these fascinating group of islands,
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2013
Read this ages ago when someone lent it to me, bought Kindle version so I can read it again. Recent fascinating history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2013
A moving story of life on St Kilda. I have read this a few times now, never tiring of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2013
Interested to read about my family who lived on St Kilda. Enjoyed the book - would definitely recommend it to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)