Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
97
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2017
i found this book difficult to put down. a lot of detail from a period I lived through and followed on daily news items. This book provides a lot of insight into what really went on and highlights some of the operational problems caused by permitting an open press. I found the unfolding narrative rivetting and would recommend this book unreservedly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2012
I really enjoyed this - if 'enjoyed' is the right word to use. What came through to me was the loneliness of life in command, Admiral Woodward could not let his emotions come to the fore, although I am sure they were there nevertheless. I was almost moved to tears, particularly when the Atlantic Conveyor was lost. The book also illustrated the fallibility of many of the missile systems, which I would have thought to be a lot more accurate than they proved to be.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2017
I don't normally like biographical style books however I couldn't put this down. Can't recommend it enough, a very honest and valuable insight into the Falklands conflict
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
I read this book a few years ago and it is still the best account of the conflict written by the Admiral who was in charge of the naval operations. Well written and takes the reader into the action and loss of this bloody war. Makes you realise how close we were to losing these far off Islands.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2008
Written by the Taskforce commander, this is a first class account of the naval aspect of the Falklands war, giving insights in to the technicalities, politics, strategy and human side of the whole thing. He is surprisingly open and frank with both facts and opinions, some of which ignore both politcal correctness, and political expediency. The author is unashamedly a Navy man, and the story is wholly a navy one, but it is what he knows about, so it is better for all that.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2017
well worth reading very informative about the falklands war1982
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2016
Written in a highly personable style - an excellent read! Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2014
I found this account of the Falklands Task Force & their part in retaking the islands for Great Britain a compelling, illuminating read. The spirit of Admiral Woodward's men in such a remote, bleak environment deserves nothing but the highest praise & he has communicated this very well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2017
An excellent account of the Falklands conflict from the point of view of the CTG.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2016
Item as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)