Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 2015
Normally when I read a biography on someone the early years are interesting then it just seems to get boring with people going through their time in this play or that venue. All through this book your family are part of your life and with the ups and downs which makes it human, if that doesnt sound wierd.
I cried, I laughed and I was impressed by a genuine family man with all the quirky honest parts of his life.

Thank you for five hours of riveting reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
I decided to read this book after watching John Bishop in Conversation tv show. I thoroughly enjoy his informal style of interviewing finding him both extremely articulate and insightful and thoroughly interesting and entertaining. Just knew I would enjoy his book and the way in which he writes, and I have. I've looked forward to coming to bed to read John's book and would highly recommend reading it even if you are not into comedy. Would now love to see him on tour. A thoroughly.de. ce

nt down to earth bloke
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
Its not laugh out loud all the way ... but then again I didnt expect it to be.. I didnt realise John had travelled so much before he settled down to life as a comedian ..

This book is a travel book, a life story and a bit of humour thrown in for good measure . I quite enjoyed it . . it covers Johns life from when he was a plasterers mate to travelling abroad and his marriage difficulties right upto working the circuits for very little money to making the break into the big time. John comes across as a thoroughly nice bloke .. down to earth with no airs and graces . I found the chapters on his fund raising for sport relief very interesting .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
This is the quickest I have ever read any book. Every spare moment I just grabbed the book even if I only had time to read a couple of pages. John has led such an interesting, if hard working life. His success was hard won, but well deserved. He is just naturally funny. He and his family make a good team. Good luck to all of you.

Sylvia Harvey
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2017
Great read! John comes over as a very genuine guy and very family orientated. Found it hard to put down and will definitely reread this again sometime. Highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
Really enjoyed the book, refreshingly honest and his life even before he became famous is fair more interesting to read about than you would expect. Worth a read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
This must be the only book where I have laughed out loud on just about every page. Even the obligatory mundane parts of an autobiography the author makes funny. I've never really been a great TV fan and was a little sceptical when I first picked up the book not really knowing who John Bishop was. Being stuck on an oil RIG in the middle of the desert where book choices are limited I thought I'd give it a bash. Very pleased I did, probably one of the most inspirational autobiographies I have read. John is a credit to himself, his family and scousers world wide. I would highly recommend this book to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
John writes brilliantly about his life and his use of the English language really stood out for me, You can tell he is every well educated and I do love his dance of humour and Liverpool accent- I would definitely recommend this book to see that he has had to fight things and situations in his life.I could read this book again in a year or so as I really enjoyed it,....I hope that you do too'Well done John -the boy done good ....many thanks $ANDRA THE QUEEN OF THE ISLE OF MAN X X
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
Parts of it were funny but overall a bit boring....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
What a page turner,could not put the book down. Loved the laughter and the pure grit. It took to complete every thing in his life,his career,his family and all the challenges that he set himself. Amazing book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)