Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
29
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2013
The book does not explain in detail what the articles(grammar) are how and why they are used. Instead small snippets are used, which does not tell you the whole story.
Very few examples and not enough variety of examples to understand the grammar in a better way.
No wonder this book is so cheap.
Do not buy if you want to learn german.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2011
This was the recommended dictionary for my daughters GCSE class and I'm glad we purchased it instead of a cheaper alternate. Amazon once again had the best price and swift delivery. The book itself is printed on good quality paper, not tissuey in nature like other dictionaries, however the downside of this is it makes the book quite heavy causing us to have to buy a second copy for at home to save her hauling it to school and back each day with all her other books. As a student just beginning german she also found the centre section most useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2009
The major flaw of this dictionary is that not a single entry provides the pronunction of the German or English words. With an Easy Learning edition, I assumed the phonetics would be simplified a little, not completely omitted!

This somewhat detracts from the other excellent elements of the dictionary: entries are clear and easy to follow, the example phrases are very useful at demonstrating words in different contexts.

However, not including pronunciation guides is unforgivable!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
I took a beginner's course at an institute in Germany and this dictonary taught me as much as the classes themselves. Every time I looked up a word, I could see it in a useful sentence. This boosted my learning considerably. The middle pages, with verbs and grammar, are a handy reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2011
Collins German Dictionary was purchased for step son, really good value and very informative. Excellent delivery, would use supplier again.(Probably have to, he loaned it to a class mate and hasn't seen it since)!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
Purchased this as I was studying German and was very terrible at it. This helped a lot and showed how to structure sentences with the correct words. I would recommend this product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
Useful for helping in writing to a German friend as I try to get to grips with the language.Some words I want are omitted, but then it is small enough to be fairly quick to use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2011
Bought this for my son after he had to return a borrowed copy to his teacher. He finds it really useful and really easy to use.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
Daughter has taken German as part of her options. This is ideal for her needs. Quick delivery, also ordered Spanish and French dictionaries - equally pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2009
Everything this dictionary contains is easy to read,
However the book is missing pages 123 - 142. What's up with that?
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse