Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 5 July 2012
I'm new to cycling(a MAMIL?)inspired by witnessing a stage of the tour in 2008. Didn't think I could read a book on the tour alone though. However what a great read. Not only does it deftly cover each of the years, but provides insight into some of the key individual participants. Anecdotes on the socio-political and commercial context of the race conspire to make this book of greater appeal and interest. All put together in a geat easy style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2013
Describes how the winners triumphed. Taking part, with no hope of winning, must be soul-destroying. A fascinating read, for all cycling enthusiasts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 June 2013
I took a chance on this book and was pleasantly surprised. For those interested in the history of cyclings premier race this is a good starting point. Written in a very accessible way, it highlights the significant dates, the main protagonists and of course the stories. Very enjoyable!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 December 2012
A good insight ito how it all began up to more recent times.

A really good read, even for the non- but curious cyclist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2014
Good buy, hubby enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 April 2012
Good broad ranging account of the history of the Tour de France. Enough detail for those who want history and enough anecdotes for the rest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 October 2017
Very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2014
Well titled! Although not a cyclist I really enjoyed this book. The history of the Tour is fascinating. Such characters involved, I loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2013
I love the tour de france - and this is inside the peleton - interesting book and will pass it on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2013
A good history of the TDF from its origins onwards. Some good photos too, and interesting stories. Well written and informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)