Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Kitchen Hero: Great Food for Less
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£9.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 7 February 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2014
Absolutely love how simple,easy and quick the recipes are to follow.Highly recommend for busy people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 August 2013
Simple dishes, ingredients you can find in your local supermarket. Love the recipes and keep them coming Donal. Presentation excellent too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2014
Good reference
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2016
I first got this book from my local library and thought it was some boyband chap trying his hand at cooking. How wrong was I! It is a truly TRULY lovely book. First I renewed it all time from the library, but when that got silly I went and bought it many months ago and now use all the time. The recipes are very diverse, Asian, Irish, French... but all are absolutely delicious and a great success with my family and two small kids to feed. They are healthy, delicious and I just don't get any complaints ever. I swear! And it is pretty (no, not the boy...), lovely pictures on every other side illustrating almost all recipes. Fab!

I have read reviews here comparing him to Jamie Oliver and although I own most of Oliver's books, I keep coming back to Skehan for ease, speed and taste. There's no faff here, just great food like mum used to make it. And now this mum does. Boy Wonder, you've done good!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2013
GOOD BOOK PLENTY OF HINTS AND ADVICE RECIPES ARE EASY TO UNDERSTAND I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS BOOK ESPECIALLY WHEN THEIR IS a recession
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2013
Great recipes and very easy to follow, made around 12 of the recipes and have had success on them all. The chocolate fudge cake is much better than any cake you can buy. I will definitely be buying Donal's other books.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2013
Move over Jaimie, there's a new pucca chef in town. Love Donal's simplistic approach to good healthy food cooked well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 2014
I just love his books. Cook and bake from them all the time. I think the TV programmes help enormously as watching it being done is mor inspirational. Highly recommend this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 May 2012
There have been a number of frugal cookery books published over recent years and Donal Skehan's Kitchen Hero: Great Food for Less both impresses and stands out. The book starts with a general guide to frugal food shopping, telling the reader which cuts of meat are which - how many people actually know that chuck steak comes from the neck and shoulder for example? Knowledge is dispensed in a factual and non patronising way. Brief advice is given on growing your own, and how to love leftovers.

Recipes are accessible, requiring the minimum of equipment, and come with suggestions on how to vary them the next time you cook them. Many are traditional recipes from Donal's family - from his mother's, grandmother's and aunt's kitchens, the food he grew up on. There is a wide range of dishes, family friendly one pots, cakes, healthy green stir fries and curries and stews. As well as classic Irish and British dishes food is spiced up with international dishes, Indian spices, Thai curries to cowboy beans. I like the fact that Donal encourages you to try lots of vegetarian dishes, with cheap, filling and delicious lentils and pulses. We loved the Indian chicken & rice bake (basically a biryani). Well written, it is like donal is standing next to you in the kitchen, helping and gently encouraging.

If proper cookery - rather than the current food science - were to return to the National Curriculum this would be the perfect book for students to learn to cook from. Essential for those wanting to learn to cook, leaving home for the first time, or needing to cook good home food for others.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)