Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
468
4.4 out of 5 stars
Catastrophe: Europe Goes to War 1914
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£20.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 September 2016
This is the first book I have read on world war 1 and the first by Hastings. Very interesting and easy to read, the research is impeccable, the history fascinating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2017
Excellent purcheise, many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
good value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
Very detailed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
A very good book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
Ah Max....how great a writer you are. THE definitive one volume history of WWI.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2017
Excellent, the reference book now on that issue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2017
Max Hastings is the Master .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2017
Master class as usual!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
I confess to being a fan of Mr Hastings' military books. I have always found them both readable and informative. This latest offering continues in that vein.
Although I am very interested in military history, my knowledge of WWI is limited and I felt that Mr Hastings would be able to broaden my understanding of this conflict.
I was also tempted by the fact that the book has a limited scope and is not an attempt to follow the war from start to finish. He covers events from the lead up to war, through to the point where the participants began to "dig in".
I was certainly not disappointed. The author covers the political developments in a clear and informative style whilst painting a very vivid picture of the personalities involved and their parts in the drama as it unfolded.
His coverage of the conflict in its early stage is atmospheric and extremely informative. Statistics are used to bolster the narrative which is never dry or stale.
He covers the various theatres of operations and includes some interesting accounts of the war at sea and in the air as well as on the home front.
If you want to know more about this tragic period in history then this is the book for you.
I sincerely hope he decides to follow up with further volumes on this subject.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)