Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 1 October 2017
Other than not being a mother, I've grown up not wanting a particular role but to be successful in business, to ensure whatever I take on is done with commitment and passion. This book demonstrates its ok to want that, that you don't have to be particularly technical/ be a specialist but what is important is persistence and working hard. I enjoyed reading this book and learnt some tips that will help me with my career moving forward.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2017
This reads a little like a personal diary at times and it was all a bit gung-ho for me at the start but by the end I had quite warmed to Brady, learning a lot about and admiring her stand for women and equality. Nice to get a peek behind the face we see on The Apprentice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2017
Great read - great story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
VERY GOOD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2016
Excellent book - good if you run your own business too - plenty of tips!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
The my partner loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2017
yes interesting book, she seems like avery nice person
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
Karren Brady writes this book as she speaks; it is authentic to her voice. She comes across as determined, single minded, impressive and yet rather cold and unsympathetic. She repeatedly uses the word relentless and this sounds up her approach to life and business - to go at it persistently with all your time and energy into you get what you want. She admires logic and avoid emotion, and there is almost no reflection about why she did what she did in the book or empathy for anyone else. She has learnt to be super self sufficient and unemotional,so that must be best for everyone.

She finds it unthinkable that people would turn off their work mobile phone or want to have a life outside work, and although she talks about balancing work with family life it is clear family doesn't get much of that pie. She goes to bed at 8 pm and works away from home several nights a week and does work on weekends too. In her early career she appears quite manipulative, telling lies to get in with the important people, and her friends and allies are not people I would hold up as role models! Similarly the aggression she describes in herself and her grandmother is worrying rather than impressive.

The book is also very dated to 2012 and her preoccupation with getting the Olympic stadium for West Ham.

So overall it is what is said on the tin, but I'd be very sad if this is a role model for women in business, as I think we have many strengths to offer that don't involve beating men at their own game but allow us to be warm and compassionate as well as driven, and show these traditional board room men there are better ways to do things.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2012
Normally the word 'sensible' doesn't get you running off to buy a book but it really does sum up Karren and her book. Other words that spring to mind are honest, down-to-earth, realistic and practical. She is definitely a strong woman but this book demonstrates that she is not a bitch and that lots of very hard work and maintaining her dignity throughout has allowed her to thrive in the workplace.

* Part biography (but not too much - just the good bits about what makes her who she is today)
* Part Business journal - great advice and ideas on how to do well in business
* Part Inspirational - I will definitely save this book and pass it on to my girls to read when they are older as I found myself agreeing with nearly all of what she said and she puts it over in such a way that made me think - "Yes! I totally understand where you are coming from"
* Brutually honest throughout - not many famous women are willing to state that they haven't done everything right and they've made mistakes both in their personal life and work life too but Karren does so I really warmed to her through these omissions
* Very unemotional - which was interesting but the more I thought of about it and the more I read about her, it was very understanding given the very male dominated situations she's been in
* Really enjoyed reading about behind the scenes at the Apprentice as I am a massive fan of the show (just wish Karren was allowed to speak more)
Would definitely recommend!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)