Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
51
4.8 out of 5 stars


on 6 June 2017
I've absolutely loved this series of books. Each one is a stand alone novel but worked well as a long story across the whole series. The plot develops throughout and is wrapped up right at the end of the series - it's brilliantly written with a perfect blend of intrigue, humour and thrills. The main characters are fabulous and their roles also progress throughout the books. I love espionage stories and this is the best series I have read. I think Bernhard Samson's character is fantastic - a true, typically understated British hero, going about his job despite the restrictions placed on him by the British intelligence establishment.

Well worth a read - once I'd started I raced through the whole series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2017
I really don't know how Len Deighton does it! 'Charity' is the last of nine books in a series about the British security services during the decade or so leading up to the fall of the Berlin wall. Each book can be read as a stand alone but it is so much better to read all of them in sequence. The main character, Bernard Samson, is a friend by the time you get to the end and the plot is so carefully contrived that it keeps you guessing almost to the last page.

Start by reading 'Game' and continue right though to 'Charity'. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2017
The magnificent end to a magnificent series. Len Deighton has managed the impossible and replaced LeCarre as my favourite spy writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
Slightly convoluted but a great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2017
This was the 3rd book of the trilogy and was up to Deighton's usual high standard
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2017
Deighton at his best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
Excellent read if you like spy novels (last book in a trilogy - Faith, Hope & Charity).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2017
Superb series Deighton is top of his profession and each of the nine books are worthy of your time and enjoyment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 May 2004
Bernard Samson is one of my favorite espionage characters. I was delighted by this excellent completion of the Faith, Hope and Charity trilogy.
The hard part about Deighton's trilogies is that they leave the reader hanging between books, dying for the next one. Charity does not resolve everything, but it certainly takes care of a lot of the dangling questions.
The plot complications invite paranoia. It seems like nothing is ever what it appears to be. The only constant is that Bernard continues to play the role of the unwitting dupe in others' ploys. Since he is a good and thoughtful person, that quality pulls us away from having sympathy for the spymasters who dream up the plans to go awry so often. It raises the rather nice question of how far the means can and should go to justify the end.
Will we ever have enough of the Cold War and its espionage? Perhaps not. If so, we are fortunate that Len Deighton has written this book.
If you have not read the earlier Bernard Samson novels, I strongly urge you to begin at the beginning with Winter. You'll have two advantages that way: You will appreciate the plot development better, having known of the prior complications; and you won't have to wait for the next book to come out. If you follow this advice, I envy you. You have a lot of fun reading ahead!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here