Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 29 December 2014
I love this book, but I bought it for my KS2 Year 3 classroom. There are a couple of titles introducing insects in the book that are inappropriate for this age group which really disappointed me. One insect goes by the title of something like-Necrophiliac beetle- or some such like (I can't quote it as I've left the book at work!) But I can guarantee several of my curious year 3's will be putting that word on our class traffic lights (they write any new words on the red traffic light and we discuss it's meaning with the whole class). I wouldn't like to have to explain what a necrophiliac is-will be gluing that page and one other together for the duration of the book's stay in my classroom.
Be warned if you're a teacher of KS 1 or 2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2013
This was purchased as a Christmas present for my son who found it very informative. Lots of great, glossy photographs too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2017
Amazing pictures and diversity of God's direct creations. Not after a big bang or species progression but final results as God, creator of heaven and earth, made them. Author pedals establishment lies about evolution. Science now proves that nature is too complex to be the result of random events beginning with faith in some big bang. Evolution is the establishment religion supported by money. It is not proven by true science. Insect behaviour, organisation and capacity clearly demonstrates an invisible force. See Walt Brown and Laurence Tisdall. What's more the establishment also promotes a globe space fantasy which has never been proven. Rather there is extensive evidence that the earth is flat and still as it says in the KJV Bible. See Edward Hendrie. Our establishment is compromised. See Texe Marrs. The author seems to get some juvenile or perverted kick out of using the term sex when reproduction or mating it clearly warranted. He also must stress the "terror" of feeding as though other living entities feel the same senses humans may feel. Maybe it's just another means of psychologically connecting animal to human evolution fantasy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 19 September 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
With some books, you get the impression that the creative effort put into the book stopped immediately after the title and cover photo were agreed. Thereafter the rest is simply filler to the required thickness, and the book passes from publisher to "The Works" with barely a pause at a respectable bookseller.

Do NOT dismiss Extreme Insects as such a book. This is a book that has clearly been created through the application of thorough research, a good deal of expertise and genuine enthusiasm. This is without doubt, the best book on insects I own, and is both a pleasure and an education to read.

At first glance, the book is simply a look at record-breaking insects. So you find the "Best jumper", "Best Eyesight", "Smallest Egg" and the "Spikiest Insect". Additionally you find "Most bizarre reverse metamorphosis" and "longest ovipositor" amongst dozens of others. Each "winner" is rewarded with a full-page photograph and a page of description which details it's genus, habitat and characteristics. But behind the glossy coffee-table presentation, is over 280 pages of entomological knowledge, and it comes as no surprise to find the index at the back of the book lists all the insects' common AND scientific names. It's a reference book in disguise!

Everyone who sees this book picks it up and is quickly captivated by it. In fact one might almost not need to read it, as they invariably delight in reading out large sections of it.

Accessable and informative for all, this book is essential for anyone with even a passing interest in insects, and is a perfect present for a loved male in your family: Unreservedly recommended!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
`Extreme Insects' is an attractive book that kind of acts like a Guiness book of records of insect facts and feats.

Each entry looks at a different aspect of insect life like `smallest egg' or `Best Dancer' and then proceeds to explain the particular topic in greater depth, with stunning imagery as accompaniment.

This is perfect to dip in and out of, but I found that I became so engrossed in the topics discussed that I'd read many entries in one hit without being aware of the time passed. It really is fascinating stuff. I feel this would make for wonderful coffee table material and there should be something in here to interest most passing readers and if you have a specific interest in insects then this would make for required reading for the photographs alone.

For those of a more scientific leaning this does also include Latin names and locations where the insects can be found worldwide.

All in all this makes for an interesting and attractive book and if you have an interest in natural history then this would be a good addition to your bookshelf.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 October 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book was very much chosen with my father and young son in mind as they have a deep love for the insect world. I think this book works well on a number of different levels, in practical terms the book is sturdily bound so it won't be damaged by any overt rough handling and it's stylish enough to grace any coffee table (if you dare!) or bookshelf. As for the text itself, children will be taken with the headline text and adults/older children will find the main section detailed enough for their needs. Special mention must be made of the high resolution images which really seem to jump off of the page. In conclusion: a great book for all insect fans, young and old.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 October 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Need to know which insect has the hairiest legs? Which one is the most boring? Or which one has the longest sperm? Extreme insects offers answers to these and a wealth of others that you may (or quite probably may not) have been pondering for years. Each question gets a full page dedicated to the answer; there is a lot of text in Extreme Insects, not just a collection of sound bites like many similar books offer. It does seem rather formal at times and the layout is aimed at older readers, especially with the quantity of text. That said, younger readers will revel in the photography. Each question has a full page photograph to accompany it and these are (mostly) excellent captures. Either as a coffee table book, a research aid or just an interesting and quirky book of insects, Extreme Insects caters to all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 September 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is an excellent book which should appeal to all but the most learned insectologists (I'm not sure it's 'serious' or in-depth enough for them). The book is set out with a double page spead featuring one insect at a time. One page has a large, coloured, very close-up photo, and the photography is stunning. The accompanying page has some facts and description of the insect. The book is laid out a bit like 'The Guinness Book of Records' in that each page features an insect which exemplifies a different attribute eg The Most Ugly Insect, The Shiniest Insect, The Most Painful Sting etc. As such I think it would appeal to boys and girls of a certain age that like knowing which is the Biggest, Fastest, Best Camouflaged etc. I would recommend this book as a Christmas present for any nephews/nieces/grand-children of the right age or anyone who is fascinated by (instead of repulsed by) insects.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 September 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Despite all the magnificent TV productions and all the amazing content on the internet this book proves there's still a place for the marriage of stunning photos with enthusiastic text in printed form. So far since this book arrived my three year-old and I have gone through every page at least twice and I have been taking time to slowly read it from cover to cover. I must have been 11 the last time a popular science glossy print book gave me so much pleasure.

The photos will impress at any age; the text is pitched at the happy medium. You don't need to be a trained botanist but equally you'll need some lay-science interest to enjoy it. Moreover every page is set to pass on some historical anecdote or wondrous fact and you can't help but be won over.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2011
This book deals with the oddities of the insect world and there are certainly some oddities.
There are 3 groups-
1)Extreme forms eg. oldest,biggest,whiteist,shieneist plus 48 other descriptions.
2)Extreme evolution eg. most punctual,giddiest,most useful plus 45 other characteritics.
3)Extreme impact eg.most useful to researcch,most painful sting,most revered plus 31 others.
There are 2 pages for each insect one for text and one for a picture.the text includes name,location attributes and an essay.
Well written and researched but is let down by the close up camera lens as in many cases it has inadequate focusing power.
Nevertheless a fascinating book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)