Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
197
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 June 2010
I'm sure I'm not alone in hoping for a bit of rain during a Test Match just so that I can listen to David Lloyd without the distraction of any cricket!

Now I can enjoy his words of wit and wisdom at any time thanks to this terrific new book.

Bumble ensures that every page is an event by combining his unique brand of humour with the magic of a natural storyteller. It's a read that gets you in all the right areas - the heart, the head and, of course, the funny bone!

Marks out of ten? I'll give it Twenty/20!
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2010
An addictive read as it is just a good lad telling you how he spends his life. The book has the feel of him telling you the tales whilst having a pint (real ale of course) rather than on a piece of paper.

Enjoyed that he let you know in a courteous manner how he gets on and thinks about his sky colleagues and other cricketers.

No smoke blown up persons behinds.

I was not sure at first about the way the book ended but after some cogitation feel it was an apt ending as a good bloke remembering one of his finest friends.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2010
I've been looking forward to the book for a while now and the eccentric that is David 'Bumble' Lloyd doesnt dissapoint.

Recalling classic moments of myrth in the Sky commentary box along with many other brilliant annecdotes about the sport of kings, It's a definite 'pick up, can't put down' read. Even my old mucker 'Lanky the Giraffe' (official mascot of Lancashire Cricket Club) gets a mention.

Would be a cracking pool-side read this summer. enjoy.

Liam.
11 Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2010
EVERYTHING WE ALL LOVE ABOUT DAVID LLOYD IS CAPTURED IN THIS BOOK, ENDEARING, FUNNY AND A BIT BONKERS!

IT'S A JOURNEY THROUGH HIS LIFE AND CRICKET THAT YOU CANT PUT DOWN AND YOU WILL FIND LIKE I DID THAT YOU ARE SMILING FROM EAR TO EAR THE WHOLE TIME YOU ARE READING IT. THIS A GENUINELY FUNNY MAN WITH SUCH AN INTERESTING STORY TO TELL THAT YOU DON'T NEED TO BE A CRICKET FAN TO APPRECIATE IT

I CAN'T RECOMMEND IT HIGHLY ENOUGH, TOP MARKS
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2010
Probably one of the best cricket books ever. Couldn't put it down or stop laughing. Roll on volume 2.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2010
I was not suprised how funny the book/cd was having listened to Bumble for many years. His use of phrases and words are from the heart which as a fellow Lancastrian is not at all unusual. He speaks how he sees a situation and puts it in a way you can understand. It is informative and funny whilst it keep your interest to the end. Highley recommened.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2010
I bought this after reading the comments of the one-star reviewer (someone who can't spell claiming something is poorly written tells you all you need to know sometimes). A big thankyou.

David Lloyd has made me laugh endlessly as a television commentator and now he has me guffawing in print.

As previous reviewers have said, this book is rather like him chatting to you down the pub. Actually, it's like the best all-dayer you've ever had. He is exactly the kind of bloke you'd like a session with. And his mates the Regiment would be welcome too.

His crackpot enthusiasm spills off every page and although his pen-portraits of his Sky colleagues at the start of the book are outstanding, Start the Car's greatness is in the latter half of the book. Here, we find out everything that has shaped the man thousands of us dearly love (his childhood, his cricket club, Accrington Stanley, love of a pint, a passion for comedy).

Above all, this book promotes our Bumble as a natural storyteller. The young Flintoff dressing room escapade is priceless and how could anyone other than Bumble get away with trying to locate the whereabouts of a confiscated blow-up doll while in charge of an international team? Legend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
In common with some other reviewers I felt that this kicks off really well but then inexplicably falls away. The changing between subject matter is fine but Bumble gets bogged down in the state of the game for me and these opinions are very subjective and without any real or clear evidence. You begin to feel that this is a missed opportunity and, whilst entertaining, could have been so much better.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2010
Bumble is a legend, a man that has bought so much humour to the art of commentary while clearly adoring the game. He became a Sky commentator at just the right time as cricket looked to branch out into 20/20 fun and his brand of presentation was perfect for the new format. But the key to Bumble is he is just as much at home covering the Test matches - adding layers and dimensions to his descriptions.
The book is just like a Bumble commentary - sometimes disjointed and rambling, full of non sequiturs but always entertaining. Worth reading just for the story of Shane Warne's debut in the Sky commentary box. Loved it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
After some heavy weeks at work, and some heavy reading choices, I needed something a bit more entertaining for my morning commute. This book really helped!

In short, it is like sitting down in the pub and letting the gentle old fella - supping on a pint of Wadworth in the corner - talk at you for 6 hours. Perfect.

Don't expect structure, or a chronological account of his life. It jumps around, goes back on itself and goes on some bizarre tangents. And I loved it for it. There are some wicked tales, and some fantastic jokes, but mainly you read about him and his drinking buddies!

Next time I am in The French House, I will keep my eye out for him.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)