Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Shadow
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 17 August 2013
I bought the audio CD format of "Shadow" so that I could listen to it whilst driving.

Just 3 CDs in length, it's a manageable length. Well read, in a Manchester accent, it kept my interest throughout. Note that the title and the image on the cover are a little misleading - whilst the dog "Shadow" is entwined with the story of Aman, the main (human) character, this is Aman's story, not Shadow's. If you are looking for a book about a dog, try the brilliant "A Dog's Purpose: A novel for humans".

This is the story of Aman and his mother, both Afghan refugees, how they came to arrive in the UK and the fight to allow them to stay. It's believable, topical, and fairly gritty. It certainly kept me interested, and it does work your emotions. However, I did also find it predictable, particularly towards the end (although I do tend to be pretty good at predicting endings, so it may not be obvious to everybody).

I'm not sure what age group this is intended for, but it could be very good for starting discussions about many topical issues with children, probably from early secondary school age.

This is the first book by Michael Morpurgo that I have listened to. I don't think it will be the last.

Recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 June 2014
I have read most of Michael Morpurgo's books, and this stands among his very best. He is never frightened to tackle challenging issues, and in this age of misplaced nationalism and the rise of UKIP etc, thank Goodness someone is prepared to al least try and show children the other side of the story.

Set jointly in Afghanistan and the UK, the book brilliantly explores the issue of the treatment of refugees and asylum seekers. At times, there are frightening similarities between the 2 systems, with the only difference in attitude being a matter of extremes. And holding it all together is the poignant story of one boy and a dog.

It isn't perfect, there is the issue of the perception of dogs in Islam which the author does his very best to deal with, but it doesn't detract from the book in any way. What it shows so well is the essential goodness of the human spirit and the corruption of this spirit that always and inevitably accompanies war.

I loved it. I have read many good books this year, but this is by far the best.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 December 2011
Known primarily as a successful author of over 100 books Michael Morpurgo was the third Children's Laureate from 2003-2005 and his recent `Shadow' must be one of his best. Michael Morpurgo is noted as a `magical storyteller' and for `Shadow' he bases his book on the true story of a sniffer dog missing in Afghanistan. Shadow is the name of a fictional dog and the actions and outcomes covering 3 generations are cleverly told by the 3 main protagonists - an Afghan boy, his English friend, and the friend's grandfather. There are postscripts giving factual information concerning the ongoing conflict in Afghanistan and the plight of refugees. It is a powerful and compelling story relevant to the present time with demonstrations of the horrific reality of war and the inhumanity of behaviour towards asylum seekers, together with insights to the cultural divide between Afghanistan and England.

Amidst death, destruction, corruption and abuse of power author Michael Morpurgo sensitively counterbalances compassion, hope and freedom. He seizes the reader's attention and holds on to it throughout his moving and emotional book, and without patronising he kindles feelings of sympathy and outrage. In addition to meaningful dialogue written in easy to assimilate short chapters the book is delightfully illustrated by Christian Birmingham. The targeted audience seems to be 10-14 year olds, but it should be manageable by those younger and also by adults. It is a book to engross all ages and to make everyone think.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2017
One of Michael Morpurgo's best books☺☺☺☺☺
really good for readers age 9 -15 .An adventure story based on the war of Afghanistan.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2016
Michael Morpurgo writes children's books, so for adults reading his work best just to let the story wash over you. Morpurgo once again brings an animal and a child together, in this case a dog and a boy in Afghanistan, to tell a short tale of struggle and sadness and, ultimately, triumph. You know what's coming, but it doesn't matter. It's simply a joy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2017
A fantastic read recommended to me by my 7 year old nephew. Impressed with the depth of reality and truth expressed in a story aimed at younger readers. Loved the story and had a few tears too
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2015
Bought for an exam but turns out the teenager who read this, loved the book.... well maybe not as much as his normal fayre (anything about cars or by Charlie Higson or Assassin's Creed and Cherub books!), but he said this one was thought-provoking and a good insight into what many refugees have to face to get to safety in order to just to live without fear.
Anything that makes kids think and evaluate rather than leaving no real impression has to be a good thing.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2016
This book arrived this morning and I was out all day so haven't had chance to look at it Any book of Morpurgo's I have read in the past has been thoroughly enjoyed. He is a very good writer.Today, Sunday, I have looked through it and It is going to be enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2018
Greatly enjoyed reading this, very sad in many parts but showed how terrible it is to live in war torn countries. Do read it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2016
I couldn't put it down. A wonderful book for both children and adults, he visualises the horrors of what asylum seekers go through. Very moving.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here