Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 July 2016
1) "What exactly would you call a dog" pg156

2) This is the fifth and most current book in the already intriguing series, Derek Landy make this book thriling with the introduction as well as the much anticipated introduction of Lord Vile. THe book is thrilling and i would highly recommend it to people of all ages. Skulduggery and Valkyrie are both trying to find out how to stop Darquesse from emerging. As Valkyrie reveals this information to Skulduggery, she has tried to block her true name as well as blaock the possibility to be possessed but the visions by the sensitives has not yet changed. During this they encounter a man called Tesseract and they must stop him at all costs, or they will die. Tanith being possessed permanently was a very strong twist in the book.

3) My favorite part of the novel is when Valkyrie and Skulduggery enquire Vaurien Scapgrace and they begin to tease him. Scapegrace has always hated them and wanted to kill them but they always elude him and make him very angry. Despite his efforts he can't seem to make them treat him seriously let alone the possibility that he could kill them. The connection i have made here is a book to book connection as i have seen this before in other novels.

4) I would personally rate this book 5 stars because of its various humorous parts as well as the rising action and the constant increasing addictiveness
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
My son is most happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2016
Bought for my son who loves the series xxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2017
Excellent read. Would recommend the full series of books,great fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
I bought this book here because I couldn't find this book in the U.S. at the time. Excellent series; I love these books!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2011
I am 13 and I love this book. It is a great rollercoaster of a read.This book will grip you with its wonderfully written plots.It is funny but also dark.It is easily one of the best books I have ever read.
People who have read other books in the series will know to what to expect.But those who haven't heres some info on the characters. The main character is a detective; sounds normal yes? No he's a skelaton who has a tendency to outwit his enemies by taking the mick. His sidekick is Stephanie Edgly. She is a direct decendant to the ancients, which means she can be a powerful elemental-you'll know what this means if you are a fan.
I loved this book but I also liked Percy Jackson series,all the Harry Potters ,Furnace series and Holes.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2010
Read it 2 days.
It's so hard to say just how good these books are - you really have to read it for yourself.
I've been following these books pretty much since they came out & I turn 18 next month but that's no issue for me because they work for many audiences.
The characters are witty making for hilarious moments and conversations that made me laugh so much it hurt.
There are so many fights you lose count. There are also so many great moments that get you're heart beating at the tension that Landy manages to stretch out over pages and pages making your heart skip a beat. The cliffhangers at the end of each book really do effortlessly leave you craving for the next one.
Seriously, buy and reach and everyone of this truly impeccable and highly recommend series. You will not regret it.
33 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2015
Approaching the end of this tome, the reader will notice a weakness in the bond between Valkyrie Cain and the Skull Man. And that weakness is Valkyrie herself. With the brilliant cliffhanger ending to book four, the world learnt that she is destined to destroy the world, as she is Darquesse Herself. That is enough to lower *anyone’s* spirits, and it worked on our girl Stephanie, too. But took this news on her chin, she did, and the first half of book five (MORTAL COIL) features a strong focus on her attempts to thwart her own destiny and resolve the issue before it takes effect. And she does.

Mr Landy has previously announced to his fans (and thereby, the world) how much of an impact JK Rowling, Stephen King and a plethora of other famous and legendary writers had on his imagination when he was a youngster. And these (SKULDUGGERY PLEASANT) books *are* about a teenage girl growing up and dealing with problems every one her age and gender face, plus (of course) the supernatural and magical ones. And so what if there is a teenage love triangle featuring vampires? Who cares if this has been done before?

I like vampires.

Vampires are cool.

Vampires *rule*

The action starts to get heavy and serious in the final third of the book, with a plague of Remnants using a packed nightclub as an invasion point to (apparently) take over the world. Our heroine escapes, along with her magical boyfriend (who for some reason, makes me think of Justin Bieber with his every appearance in the book) and in a brilliant plot twist, previously rarely used characters (SPOILERS) witness Valkyrie in action, and before long, said rarely used characters are given the low down on what’s up, so that they can join forces with the good guys, too. Presumably.

One fault I could lay claim to is that the book doesn’t really have an obvious end point. It is great fun to read, with plenty of LOL moments, and the apparent relative maturity of the tale is certainly welcome from my point of view (I like vampires, don’t forget) but surely there is more to the book’s plot than simply surviving through treachery, physical attacks on one’s body, mind and soul? Fair enough, one major player actually *dies* and returns to fight another day in the tale’s first half, but apart from that, I don’t see where the book is heading. But maybe that is just me leading a busy life, or trying to read too many books at once. Or maybe i am being a lazy reader and I am not thinking hard enough. There are plots within plots (within plots) in these books, and they only become apparent to the alert reader. So maybe I need to practise what i preach, and as I said in an earlier review, give these books the respect they deserve, and just read one book at a time. Then, perhaps, I will be able to see the wood for the trees and focus my attention on playing my part in the defeat of the Army Of The Remnants.

Four stars for another solid entry in this series.

BFN Greggorio.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2015
I am a fan of Derek Landy’s Skulduggery Pleasant novels – I am a fan of his breakneck plotting, the dauntless diversity of his imagination, his joyous lack of pomposity that permeates practically every sentence (it’s obvious that he’s taking this exactly as seriously as he needs to – which is very seriously at times, and gloriously not at others) and the care which has gone into making his magical folk clearly delineated in both affiliation and ability, influential totems and louche underlings alike.

The most impressive thing on display in Mortal Coil, however, is the number of plot strands – the factions and contrary intentions, the allegiances and rivalries, the ever-shifting struggle for power and influence, and the inevitable overspill into Stephanie Edgley’s life – that are not only on display but also kept so uncluttered and perfectly patterned around each other. This is ostensibly a book for 9 year olds, but feels like a series of House of Cards at times, and it’s testament to Landy’s virtuoso talents that everything remains clear, even when it’s deliberately jumbled.

Once again, the writing belies a tremendous amount of skill. Chapters 21 and 22 – concerning the character Nye – are frankly terrifying, but the horror of it is somehow simultaneously avoided and catalogued minutely. Tesseract is a fabulous creation, somehow avoiding the 'impeccably faultless bad guy' tropes that he should be mired in to emerge as possibly the best new character in the series. And the minor character work – see Eamon Campbell – is again spotless. The threat posed by the Remnants expands and explodes in a manner that is again very easy to believe, and there is enough epic in here for most series final chapter, with the unfurling of the stakes over the second half perfectly paced and judged. But this book is only the midway point of Landy’s plan. He is going to top this, I have every faith, and that makes me really quite indescribably excited.

Even at 600 pages Landy isn’t wasting time filling in blanks for those of you hopping on board at this late stage – if you want to know what Anton Shudder’s gist is...tough, go back and read Dark Days. One character crops up out of seemingly nowhere towards the end, and while their appearance had me grinning from ear to ear, you’re going to be a bit lost if you start here (though it does end on a moment of beauty that anyone can appreciate). Go back to the beginning, get the full story. They’re great books, and it’s really not time wasted.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse