Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 17 May 2011
this atlas is fantastic so up to date in every respect Didnt think i would get one this detailed and the satellite pictures are phenomenal.my mother who is 84 said she always wondered what the world maps looked like now with all the power shifing over her life time.. fantastic purchase..............
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2011
This high quality atlas contained all and more than I had expected.
It was a present for my 30+ daughter and she was delighted.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2011
Excellent value. Excellent maps of the world, with orthographic projections to show real layout and standard mercator type projections for more detailed country maps. Street maps of major cities and historical political maps. Much geophysical information. Some superb satellite images. Good binding and very clear. Typeface of index is rather small.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
I bought this atlas as a present for my husband as the one he had was out of date and did not give the information he needed for his interest in current affairs and crossword puzzles. It is in an attractive form and easy to use.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2011
Excellent Reference Atlas by Times.5th edition.
Contains some fabulous aerial images of the earth; Historical maps; Flags by State / Territory; Geographical info; main City plans; .Times World Atlases - The Times Reference Atlas of the World
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2012
Amazon provide this atlas at a great price and with very speedy delivery. The atlas provides a well laid out mapping section and lots of other valuable information on related topics. We love it ( aged 65 ) and the grandchildren ( 7 to 12 ) find it a great source of information on area's they are studying at school. Highly recommended.Times World Atlases - The Times Reference Atlas of the World
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
The Times of London. U.K. is famous for it large atlases of which I have three, none of them identical. This is however a smaller, and cheaper version.The maps are proportionately smaller, the pages being approximately about A4 in size.but perfectly clear. The mapping information is supplied by the well-known geographers, Collins-Bartholomew and so are up-to-date. Every atlas compiler must make a selection of what maps to insert and at what scale. I am glad to say, Ireland and Scotland get a page each while England gets 2 pages The United States gets 12 pages; Canada 6 plus the Great lakes . Australians may feel cheated with only 1 regional map, the South east.. As common nowadays, maps start at the International date line and proceed westward.

But atlas contain much more details.Very interest is the section of 16 historical maps mostly dating from the beginning of the 20th century. It confirms the saying of Hilaire Belloc that nothing is more impermanent than lines on a map. The is also the section of views of the world as seen from a satellite, information about all the countries of the world, a large section of city plans, and a section on geographical information about the globe.

The print is quite small and there are some pictures but not many, so it is rather advanced for the younger child. But for those over the age of nine or ten and no upper age limit the is a handy, up to date atlas for everyone
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2012
An excellent Atlas, I cannot imagine that there are many questions that cannot be answered within this product. I bought this as a gift but seriously thought about keeping it myself.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
This was exactly what my Mum wanted and, although containing a wealth of information, still doesn't weigh heavily enough to cause her difficulty in lifting it. It contains just the right detail she wanted, is very informative and an excellent buy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
I bought this as a christmas present for my grandma, she loved it. It is a very nice atlas, lovely pics and drawings. only down side was 2 weeks after delivery WH Smith had it a fiver cheaper.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)