Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2013
Would recommend buying this as it's perfect for kids school bags. It measures approx 6"x4" and is just under 1.5" thick, so is not too heavy and probably easier to use than the very small ones you get. It has French - English ,English - French and also has verb tables .
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
Really clear and gives the use of each word in different circumstances along with examples. Coloured font also helps with understanding.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
This book was very useful and at the back it shows how the word changes depending on the tense and it arrived on time.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
Bought this for my grandson as he is now doing French at school. A little on the heavy side to carry in a school bag but great for home use. Would recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2012
This is a very good package for a small schoolbag dictionary. It's larger than the pocket versions, but smaller than a paperback novel. It is excellent for what it is.

It was my daughter's first choice for school (starting GCSE) as she wanted something compact with comprehensive verb tables (she tells me they can take a dictionary into the exam). It looks well set out and is very clear.

Obviously you don't get extensive descriptions of usage in a dictionary this size. As a former language student myself, I would encourage the habit of checking in a larger dictionary for contextual meanings as simple translations can be so far off the mark. This also exposes you to a lot of real-world turns of phrase. I happen to have my old full size Collins-Robert for this.

Nor do you get a grammar. I think for GCSE you can pretty much follow whatever text book is being used, but by A-level you'll be creating more varied written language and you'd want something with the basics set-out whether that's a separate reference or a larger bookshelf dictionary and grammar combined.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
My son recently started secondary school and this was perfect for him to help with homework. French-English and English-French :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2014
A very good dictionary for secondary school and easy to use. Has French to English one side and vice versa on the other.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2013
Bought this for my daughter who is in Year 7. It is easy to use, clear, a nice size and I would think will be comprehensive enough to last her for at least the next 2 or 3 years, perhaps longer.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
My daughter loves learning french at school.

She wanted a dictionary of her own rather than use the school ones.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
Small but mighty, explains all the necessary grammar, my son uses it all the time, great size and value for money
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse