Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
52
4.3 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2017
Amazing story as always from Anne Bennett.. Highly recommend. Historical novel of war and romance. With an amazing ending. A must read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2012
Well written book, full of accurate descriptions of the area of Birmingham involved.
I thought it reflected the Brummie spirit throughout the war years and found it entertaining, having heard some of the stories from my grandparents and family.
I would recommend this book as an easy read that has a good storyline and paints a picture of the war throughout.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2012
THIS IS A BRILIANT BOOK COULDNT PUT IT DOWN READ THE WHOLE BOOK YESTERDAY IN THE SUN
IM AWAY TO SEE WHAT ELSE SHE HAS WRITTEN A DEFFINATE MUST HAVE
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2012
I'm pleased that the other reviewers are so happy with this book. Last night I threw it down on the floor and gave it up. The story is good, the wartime era described very accurately apart from the bit about Lancaster bombers being built so early in the war. They did not come into service until 1942, but then nobody can get everything right and this book is generally very good on wartime details which is more than can be said about some other writer's books.
My problem with this book is, the stilted, precise dialogue. I'm so fed up with "I am, I will, I have, it is, they are" etc. Nobody speaks like that all the time unless they're rather angry or trying to put a point across. For example on page 240, stall holders are described as rough and ready. So would they really say "I have just the thing" more than likely they would say "I've got just the thing". Anne Bennett's aversion to the abreviated form with apostrophes just spoiled it for me and I gave it up halfway through after struggling with the dialogue which is rather like listening to ham actors speaking precisely and without much feeling! Anne Bennett is a good writer if only she would loosen up the character's speech just a bit.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2012
I'm on page 294 and nothing gripping has happened. Kate's husband David and his best friend Nick are always granted leave together - that would not have happened during the war. I have read several Anne Bennett's books and this one is the most boring.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2012
This book was an interesting read illustrating how strong the religious convictions and practices where\are held amongst the Irish community and then when migrated to a new community and learning to forge new path unheeded how less strong those convictions are held in the wider context of their lives within their new surroundings environment. And then when religion is not used as the guiding path what true feelings and sentiments are really held by the Irish folks back home but at the same time how very different fabric of life is and how the war seems not to be of real concern as life continues unheeded. But apart from that it was also interesting how life in Birmingham and the impact war brought its impacts on the local brummies the Governments guidelines that were imposed to safeguards it wider communities and the different organisation that existed to provide support and care which lead to one person life being reinstated with another as a result of an bombing raid. Another interesting fact bored out in this story is how it has a long history of Irish integration in Birmingham where as least not reflected in this book any existence of racial prejudices. Overall an enjoyable read for this dramatised fiction with strong truths. Far From Home
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
This book is okay if you like a running commentary on mundane conversation, what they had for breakfast and where they went shopping. I got 1/3rd of the way through the book and couldn't take any more - soooo bored. The story so far: Irish girl went to live in Birmingham, had a friend called Susie, her sister from Ireland arrived and they both got boyfriends..................................zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
This was my first purchase on kindle all Anne Bennett books are wonderful and this was no exception. So easy to read and hard to put down
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2014
Sad to say i agree with most negative comments about this book.... i have read many Anne Bennett books and enjoyed them, this book however just had no substance and i found my mind kept drifting to other things while reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2012
Anne Bennent books are all great reads and the last book which came out 2011 brings them all together.All books are about a irish family in the war years that go their own ways in life.These books i could not put down
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here