Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2017
Great reading!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
I so regret saying this but this has to be one of the worst books I have ever read. Perhaps i don't get it but it is definately not to my taste. Sorry
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2010
A series of short stories which are monologues and very cleverly written. The reader's emotions range from funny to sad but the vulnerability of human life is on every page. Easily read and worth the read.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2011
This is a great book for dipping into.
It'll make you laugh,cry and think-such is the skill of Lynne Truss.
It can be read in a sitting but some of the monologues are so deceptively deep that you have to stop for a ponder as all the implications appear.
The mark of a good short story is that it leaves you asking for more and all of the 12 monologues do just that.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
Love these monologues. They are funny and sad at the same time. I have been listening to them in the car and I am sure other motorists must think I am barmy as I have been laughing out loud at some parts. As expected, beautifully written, and the readers have been very well chosen. I have not previously liked Janine Duvitsky but she does a fantastic job in "The Wife", clever story wonderfully read, subtle but so worth 'reading between the lines'. I am surprised someone has given only one star, perhaps this person is not of "a certain age" and therefore not able to appreciate fully what a great set of characters Lynne Truss has produced. Anyway, I would recommend to anyone interested in well-written witty mini stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
This book is just great!
A real light-hearted, quality read. Wide variety of characters so everyone'll be sure to find one they love or hate ! :D
Beautiful cover art and am extremely impressed how well this transferred form wireless to written/
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2013
I'd read anything by Lynne Truss. This is kind to a range of people, revealing their back story with humour. Like being taken for a walk and allowed to notice the sights for yourself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2011
This pack consists of 3 CDs with two half-hour stories on each CD. Each is a beautifully observed monologue from six points of view - the mother, the daughter, the sister, the other woman, the cat lover and the wife. The writing is clever and witty with excellent casting. Buy the second set which uses the same idea from the man's perspective - equally as good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)