Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 21 September 2011
This is a great addition to my cartographic collection. Comprehensive cover of the UK and Northern Ireland with beautiful, uncluttered modern mapping. I like the subtle gradient colours and feel the new maps contrast well with the older county ones. Lots of relevant data in respect of each area and great photographs throughout. A good index completes this highly recommended addition to British Atlases.

The most recent previous National Atlas of Britain I own dates from the mid eighties and was a joint production by Ordnance Survey and Country Life.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2018
Too much attention to looking pretty. Some clarity lost for the benefit of artistic impression.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2016
Great product, delivered quickly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2015
Excellent value for money. I caught my mum lamenting that she couldn't afford this book, so naturally turned to see if it was cheaper on the internet to get it for her birthday. She seems very pleased with it, it is always out, open in the lounge - so that must be a good sign!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2015
The times Atlas is excellent! In beautiful Condition. All intact. I am very pleased with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2015
A very rewarding Atlas to consult. Clear, detailed maps of districts, counties and localities. Also loved the historical maps-even included Ireland! Excellent extra snippets on local people, places etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 September 2014
Good value and service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2015
Npt what I expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 16 September 2010
This is the first atlas of Britain to be published for more than 40 years (in fact it's really an atlas of the United Kingdom as Northern Ireland is included). It consists of statistical maps on the whole of the UK, examples of historical mapping from the constituent countries of the UK, and two-page county maps which are exceptionally detailed and adopt the clear style of the Times world atlas series. In general between two and four pages are also devoted to historical maps of each county and a description of it with numerous photographs. The atlas copes well with the move from counties to Unitary Authorities in England and still maintains the county basis but with specific texts relating to UAs.

It is good to see that the Times have renewed the tradition of country atlases following on from Saxton's first county atlas in the sixteenth century. This is a high-quality publication well worth buying if you're interested in maps and the UK.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 June 2015
‘The Times Atlas of Britain’ is actually an atlas of the United Kingdom. This is a review of the 2010 edition. It is a large book with its own slipcase and is full of colour photographs as well as maps. The book opens with UK-wide maps that summarise themes such as climate, population, economy, travel, energy etc., but the bulk of the tome is a county by county concise descriptive analysis plus map. Also included alongside the main map of the county is a historical equivalent from ‘Bartholomew’s Atlas & Gazetteer’ of 1887.

Strictly, it is not ‘county-by-county’ but administrative area-by-administrative area. The problems this has caused for the book’s editors is explained, for we are told, “Some former districts … have become ‘unitary authorities’ …. Some counties have in local government terms ceased to exist … whilst other counties … have abolished all the districts and operate as a unitary authority … and yet others … retain the two-tier structure of a county council with districts beneath.” This has made a mess of local government in this country and would never be contemplated in countries such as Germany.

But in terms of this book, “Such an individualistic approach has created problems in compiling the text of this atlas.” Thus we are informed, for example, that “Southampton is a unitary authority on the south coast of England surrounding the city of Southampton and bordered by Hampshire.” Each ‘county’ (and I hereafter use this term as the one most appropriate) has its own section listing facts and figures followed by a brief summary narrative of its physical features and economic life. I spotted some typographical and/or factual errors in the text of those counties for which I have most knowledge.

But there is also much to learn, such as that Camberley in Surrey was an invented name to prevent confusion with its original name ‘Cambridge’. We also learn that it is ‘Dumbarton’ (the town) but ‘Dunbartonshire’ (the county). We even discover that Sean Connery’s first name is actually Thomas. (Each county has a list of famous sons and daughters.) Meanwhile, some entries beg questions. For instance, why is there a picture of Hampton Court Palace under the ‘Surrey’ section, and what prompted the name-change of the river Cam from it’s the river Granta?

The book adopts a sinuous tour of the country, starting in Cornwall and ending in Northern Ireland. It is not clear why this method was chosen rather than a strictly alphabetical approach. Also, whilst boundaries of some smaller unitary authorities are shown, those created by the disbandment of the metropolitan counties in 1986 are not: thus we have the boundary of Darlington depicted on the map of Durham but not that of Doncaster on the map of South Yorkshire.

But these are relatively minor matters when compared to the whole, which will prove a valuable addition to my book shelves – if I can find a shelf tall enough to take it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse