Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

  • 1356
  • Customer reviews



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 February 2013
I gave this novel 3 stars rather than the 4 or 5 that I normally give for Bernard Cornwell novels in some of his other series.
Frankly it never really came alive. Interesting as a description of the battle and its build-up, but lacking in the type of impact that I felt he delivered in Azincourt, and in The Alfred The Great series.

The characters in 1356 seemed to be rather undeveloped (OK I felt similarly about the earlier novels in the 'Heretic' series!) but knowing what a good job Cornwell can make of characters (Uhtred in the Alfred the Great series) where a wicked humour is applied to the character's retrospective comments on his life, made me less enthusiastic about 1356...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
The final part of a great series, following the progress of an archer and his many battles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
It's a decent enough book - but I am starting to find Bernard Cornwell's writing a little hard to follow.
The development of characters is almost instantaneous and very often there's no apparent reason for things happening.

But I do like his books - especially as they have a basis in history, and particularly this period of history. And I am reading the other ones in the series (harlequin and vagabond) which actually are much more entertaining!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2016
Thomas of Hookton will be missed when BC eventually has him ride into the sunset. This chapter in French history must make miserable reading to a Frenchman. This book flows much better than the last, is certainly more credible too. Enjoyed it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
very good quality and a nice read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2017
Superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
Bargain
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2012
As usual Mr Cornwell has excelled himself with a tale full of historical fact and fabulous fiction.
Thomas of Hookton or The Bastard is one of his most enduring characters and his deeds are truely heroic.And yet he is fallible as are all humans.
A truely superb read and for those who are not devotees of this author this is THE book to start you on your way to true fiction bliss.
As you may have gathered I am a huge fan of all things Cornwell
When's the next one out please?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here