Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
465
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 June 2017
This book's chatty style guides the reader through the evolution of punctuation as used in English. There was something deeply satisfying about seeing a snapshot of the roles performed by each punctuation mark in turn. It's also been fascinating to muse on how two new developments have changed the state of the written word since the 2007 edition: the launch of Kindle and other mobile devices (which are extending the "swansong" of the book as a medium), and the rapid decline in text speak due to "unlimited text" tariffs and predictive testicles lol
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2017
If you are fond of punctuation, or if you would like to punctuate better, this is an accurate and amusing book on the subject. It has almost made me a fan of what I call 'the American list final comma'. (I really need to get out more ...)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Not sure why this is cropping up for review so long after purchase. Reasonably good commentary on punctation and the need for accuracy, but peters out rather than stays consistently strong. Readable and forgettable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
This is a very entertaining read about grammar, for readers who quail every time they see misplaced apostrophes, incorrectly applied commas, or overused exclamation marks. Great read, with a lot of useful punctuation advice too!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
Lynne Truss is my guru! As a professional writer, I often check her advice on various aspects of grammar and her book is such a giggle as well as being educational. Brilliant work!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Very interesting but sad to realise how badly the English language has deteriorated!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2017
An absolute classic for anyone trying to improve their grammar and writing skills.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2017
A very useful little book if you want to be serious about your english language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
The content of the book is very good. However, it is a shame that my version had aged and yellowed paper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2015
It was reassuring to read the words of a fellow stickler, letting me know that it's not just me who still cares about punctuation! Written in an engaging and entertaining style. Highly recommended read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)