Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
41
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£20.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 February 2014
Well priced, speedy delivery but obvious sign of wear to the pages.
Readable and the pictures also explain a lot of the titanic, not what we see on the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
You need to have an interest in the millionaires of the nineteenth century in order to get through the first class passenger list. The rest was quite interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2012
I enjoyed reading this book as I've always been satisfied by The Titanic, very enjoyable with lots of facts and a bit of a story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
A very comprehensive account of this tragedy .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
Bit drawn out....got bored
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
What a sad letdown this book is. Although the research and scholarship is impeccable, the author has succeeded in converting one of the great narratives of 20th century history into a list; a rather tedious ship's inventory of a list in fact. Even the sinking and aftermath are presented here in an oddly, unengaged and charmless manner and the rush to the end has the feel of a voyage which has somehow lost its steam. What a shame.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
Excellent read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2015
interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
I didn't find that this book offered anything new about the tragedy. I found the early chapters dragged a bit with too much detail about the super rich, some of whom did not take a passage on the ship after all. The second half of the book was more interesting to me and what the author told us about the faceless poor and migrant travelers was sometimes poignant p245 "We know nothing of Livshin's life on board Titanic: he had no future." However many of the lives mentioned in the book did continue and I was frustrated that we were not told about their future. The children kidnapped by their father Michel Navratil for example, I looked them up in other books and found out what happened to them, but this book is silent about their future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)