Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 June 2010
No need for a long review here. This book was written by a professional soldier who was in the SAS, or the Special Air Service. For those not in the know, that's an elite unit of the British Army trained to carry out operations in ALL parts of the world. Eventually, the author became a survival instructor to the SAS, so you can be sure that this guy knows his stuff.

The book covers all you'd ever want to know about the essentials of surviving in climates such as: the polar region, mountains, seashores, islands, tropical regions, or even at sea. Here's few of the many topics the book covers:

-food, what you can and can't eat
-animal tracking with numerous pics
-color pics of edible plants
-pictures of traps and how to trap things
-how to handle animals you've killed for food
-how to make a camp and various shelters
-knot tying pics
-first aid
-color pics of medicinal plants
-picures of dangerous/poisonous critters
-things to have in a survival kit

A very handy resource for anybody who enjoys outdoor/wilderness activities, it's just a darn good thing to have around in case of emergencies- or even just to look at the pictures! Also recommend Treat Your Own Rotator Cuff if you have a shoulder problem that is interfering with your outdoor activities.
0Comment| 89 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
For what I paid it's a bargain at £3.80 including postage! Very good little book, hundreds of pages on first aid and survival. I had this years ago as part of a first aid/survival kit and used it to make a shelter when I had to survive in the woods for 4 days as the survival part of a conservation course I did. Thanks to the instructions in this very compact little book I was able to quickly make a simple but effective shelter. Would recommend this book to anyone and everyone.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
My boyfriend hates books so I bought him this and he read it! Progress! Just playimg on his paranoia about the impending break down of society. Handy little book and woukd definitely keep it on my person if I ever went anywhere without a starbucks.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2014
Well what can I say about this little gem of a book. For something of such a small size it is cramed full of knowledge that could save your life one day if you take the time to read through it before you need it! A review for this book said you'd need a magnifying glass and a torch to read it if you find yourself in a tough spot, but in all fairness you should read and understand the information before you end up in a situation where you need the knowledge.

It is cramed with information and clear diagrams on everything you could every possibly want to know, from building a shelter and what plants you can eat to what to do if there's a Volcanic erruption! There's a reason why this book has sold so many copies worldwide, the reason is that all the information is tried and tested and you know it works, being ex-military myself I have used this to expand my knowledge.

It is important that once you have read sections to go out and try the techniques, shelter buiding, fire making, collecting plants and tasting them. Take it wit you on a camping trip and try out some of the things in the book.

As a prepper I consider this a must have bit of kit in your BOB, but remember to read it, absorb the knowledge and practice it before you need it.

Paul.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2015
For £6.00 it's a pretty good book. A bit smaller than I thought but when a zombie apocalypse comes, the book will come in very handy. I put a picture so you can compare the size. Also wanted to add that the book has 384 pages and the writing is really small so don't think your not getting your money's worth.
review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2010
this is a great little book that will have a place in my rucsac when ever i go on a mission (expedition) ,
it is very concise and to the point, no waisted words ,no fluff, just loads of hard core life saving knowledge packed into 4"x5"ish book , i bought it because; if the global economy colapses; maybe the end of this year (2010) , supermarkets will not be open for buisness, neither will the water treatment plants ,are you ready?.
would i recommend this book , yes indeed !
other books i bought with this are ,little gem 'food for free', ray mears 'bushcraft'and 'find your way without map or compass' all recommended reads to fatten the clever gland .
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
Great book to own! A must for all serious survivalists. Simple, clear illustrated diagrams show 'you' how to survive in various situations, if 'one' is caught in an emergency without the 'establishment' being there to help and assist 'us'. Arrived promptly. Well worth the price. Fits very well in my jacket/coat pocket, for when I'm stuck on the delayed morning train to work. will recommend. Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Go on. It's cheap, Buy one. Nice small format so it easily fits in pack or pocket. This contains just about everything you ever need to know about survival. You don't have to be a "Prepper looney" but of course we all have a copy. The content is interesting in itself and even the Americans buy it in droves.

If you ever go camping buy a copy of this and help Lofty's retirement fund.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
Its a small pocket size book. I have purchased this for my son as we often ask how we could survive if a catastrophe happened.
I have not read it but what better guide could you have other than one written by the sas?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2014
Essential handy guide for truly wild camping/living off the land in a wide variety of environments. Easy to understand diagrams and instructions. Ideal size for keeping with you - a waterproof paper version would be ideal, which would make this safe to use in all weather. Ideal to read before planning outdoor activities especially if you are going to teach/practice shelter making or wish to travel very light with just a bivvie bag. Also includes information on making open fires, ovens and cooking utensils/appratus to dry cloths, cook food etc...I always try something new when on camping trips as regular Practice is essential to keeping your skills fresh - good fun to :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)