Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 9 March 2013
If your looking for inspiration look no further. Chris hoy comes across just as you would hope, tough, dedicated, driven but above all that unassuming with a great respect for the people without whom he could not have achieved. He will be a member of the sporting elite with the likes of Sir Steve, David Beckham, Seb Coe, Sir Stanley Mathews, Sir Bobby Charlton and let's not forget Tim Henman who despite not achieving the pinnacle in his sport always conducted himself brilliantly.
I could not put this book down, I knew what the end was but you have to know how it was achieved, of course it's not easy nor without set backs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2014
A great book and I was sorry to reach the end. It was informative and very exciting in places. His detailed description of the races was great - I felt I was there with him sharing his thoughts and feelings, hopes and disappointments. It wasn't the smoothest, most professionally written book that I have read but it was the authors own words and it was certainly very honest and readable. I learnt so much from it and shared the joys of every race win - fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2014
Great story and such a down to earth guy. Great ambassador for British sport and for Scotland. I love a story about someone who doesn't follow the conventional wisdom and yet Chris Hoy was not a rebel - just very determined, dedicated to his sport and very good at what he does. Good on him. Brilliant career and great achievements.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2017
There were moments of a lull in the book but overall a great read and comes across a really humble guy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2016
Great read from a guy with a great sense of humour. Well written with an excellent insight into how Chris Hoy realised his cycling ambitions. Open and candid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2016
Informative, interesting and a bit awe inspiring. An amazing sportsman and athlete and,primarily, a really nice guy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 August 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed this book. This coming from someone who had no knowledge or even interest in cycling who will now be able to watch a race and understand exactly what is happening. It is a very well written story told in easy to understand language and highlighting why the nation took Christ Hoy to their hearts, he just seems like a really nice down to earth guy who had total commitment to his sport
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 January 2015
Worth a read has some interesting elements, takes you through the competitions competed in and the hard work required. It isn't a training tip book however and doesn't offer any help in that regard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2013
bought this as a wide range of books for my husband for christmas oer several themes, sport mustic etc. and he loved the idea of them all. He has not read this one yet but it sounded a great read with the reviews
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2014
Very good book interesting read, clear and to the point like the man himself. His comments about the junior BMX scene are interesting including some of the names who also took part. His description of after hard intervals is so true.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)