Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 29 August 2017
Street Child is a story with heart, sparkling against the grimy backdrop of Victorian London. Using her story-telling skills to perfection, Doherty transports the reader back to a time when children would rather choose a life on the street to one in the grim conditions of the workhouse.

A perfect companion to a topic on Victorians, this story truly enables the reader to feel sorry for the central character, Jim. A desire to find his sisters keeps his courage burning bright, enabling him to withstand the difficult situations that he finds himself in. Victorian London is painted vividly in the reader's mind. It's a place where the poor look out for themselves and no one else. Shrimps' mum leaping out from nowhere and stealing his money, despite never providing for him, just shows that even family turned on these children when they needed them most.

The story also addresses the difference between the rich and the poor in the Victorian era. The image of Jim dancing for the people queuing for the theatre, just to get enough money to feed himself, is one that shows this contrast well. The desire and need for food is ever present.

I felt quite emotional towards the end of the story, particularly when Jim is seeking help for Shrimps. Despite the storyline being one of poverty and despair, Doherty's introduction of Barnie gives the reader hope and relief that there's finally somewhere for the children to go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2017
I loved the way that it tells you something true and made a heartwarming story out of it.It is an amazing book πŸ“š and I would recommend it to anyone and everyone πŸ‘©πŸΏβ€πŸŒΎπŸ‘©πŸΌβ€βš•οΈπŸ‘§πŸ½πŸ‘§πŸ½πŸ‘·πŸΏπŸ‘¨πŸΏβ€πŸ’»πŸ’‚πŸΎπŸ’‚
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2014
Used in the literacy hour and outside of it with a Year 5 class studying the Victorians. Loads of lesson ideas online. Very well written and appealed to both sexes. Personally, I found it a little depressing but the children enjoyed it and of course with it being based on a true account it was an accurate reflection of the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2015
Bought for my 9 year old son who has been reading it at school already with his class and now he can read it at home. I started and finished it before him! Great read! Now looking forward to getting the 2nd book sometime.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2017
This book is truly superb. I'm a teacher so I initially bought the book so that it would link with our topic on The Victorians, however, I was soon hooked on it and read for personal enjoyment!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2013
A good book for schools to use when learning about Victorian conditions and life, but it reads a bit like that - a useful book for school work. It's been well researched and is based on true events and people. Fast paced and easily readable it's not one of Berlie's best and yet it is considered a modern classic by many. This edition contains extra information at then end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2017
This book was full of amazing descriptions and it was really touching throughout, I am eager to read β€˜Far From Home’ which is the other side of the story ( what happened to Jim’s Sisters )
I recommend this book to anyone who is inspired by charity work especially Dr Banardo and his brilliant work.Tissues at the ready!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2017
Great link to the Victorian period and written in an interesting way for the children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2017
A great book to teach about life in the Victorian times. Keeps you guessing sand children love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 February 2017
Excellent read and a part of British history lesson. Read by children and adults alike get it on your shelf - expresso!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse