Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
40
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.83+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2013
Sadly it didn't. ( get better ).

I have read a couple of her books and they were ok. This was truly awful. ...you will cringe...but
someone will like it. Just not me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
I loved the Devil wears prada and Chasing Harry Winston. Last Night at Chateau Marmont is entertaining but not nearly as funny as her other work. It missed the querky side characters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
This book is very easy to get into and very hard to put down. The main character is really likable and you are rooting for her the whole way through. Thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2010
Took a few pages to get going but a great holiday read. Brought a tear to the eye though but would read again tomorrow.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
Got this as a present for the missus to read/Kindle. Has not got around to reading this one as yet however the item was delivered quickly and as expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
Boring story, it's long book and nothing very much happens even during the bits you think it will. Nowhere near as good as Devil Wears Prada
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2010
I picked this up having quite enjoyed the Devil Wears Prada, and because I fancied something non-taxing to read.

On the plus side, it's a reasonably undemanding and easy to dip in and out of. The whole name-dropping celebs and districts of New York is done well, as is the bitchiness of showbiz-land.

On the minus side... well, it could have done with a more exciting plot. Although bits of it are funny, nothing really sticks in your mind. I kept thinking it was going to lead to a really dramatic discovery, but it didn't.

The characters were a bit dull as well. The heroine works all hours to support her man in becoming a star, never seems to be considers the ramifications of him making it to the big time and then is shocked that they have to deal with the flip side of fame, like groupies and paparazzi - you kind of wonder why she bothered, frankly. She keeps on having to "stay positive" and not say anything to her husband no matter how much he's trampling on her, which I found myself a bit uncomfortable with - it's like feminism never happened. The "baddies", the showbiz management people, were far more interesting than the hero and heroine, and were sadly under-used.

So, all in all, worth a look if you like the author, and good for whiling away a train journey with. But don't expect too much.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
I like it and I saw the movie of its first book. So I tried to find the original book to read.It is cool.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
I think my other half liked this but im not sure, i wouldnt be able to understand it any way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
I LOVE THESE BOOKS BY THIS AUTHOR. I HAVE ALL HER OTHER BOOKSSO WHY NOT ADD TO IT. THANK YOU
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.85

Need customer service? Click here