Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

William's Progress
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 24 August 2012
As a fan of Matt Rudd's journalism and a new mum, I went in filled with many warm, fuzzy expectations - I really wanted to like this book.

Exaggerating for effect and making people cringe are mainstays of comic writing, but here they're taken to pointless extremes. The lead character alternates between being utterly gutless and verging on psycho, while his wife forgives her best friend everything and her husband nothing - they both come across as very unlikeable. The plot was ludicrous and, well, it just wasn't very funny, unless you really like histrionic idiocy. I want to slap pretty much every character silly. It's such a pity - Rudd could have been more restrained and realistic and it would have been funnier, more humane - and just better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2013
I read the first book in the series and loved it. The author is witty and insightful. Although not as good as the predecessor, it was still a pleasure to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2013
I bought this book after laughing out loud on many occasions during the first one but just didn't find this one as funny as the first one, but it certainly wouldn't put me off of reading other Matt Rudd books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2014
Good follow up to the first book albeit slightly absurd at times. Diverting though and not too taxing a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2013
Thoroughly enjoyed both of the books on William, very funny. Would definitely recommend for holiday reading! Will look for more books by Matt Rudd now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2016
Sorry, this was not funny at all. Very cliched.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2015
Absolutely brilliant, the characters and storylines get a bit much but s a great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2013
Another light hearted book well worth the time. Easy to get into and groups you to the end ! Perfect holiday reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2011
Loved the first book in the series. This one is FAR funnier. As for the reviewer who took exception to the animal cruelty...it`s not real you know. Another book soon, please!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2013
I read `William Walkers First Year of Marriage some time ago and, while enjoying it, I wasn't desperate to read this second outing for William. I must say that I enjoyed this book more than the first one. William Walker is great fun to read about--such wonderful intentions but oh my he screws up along the way! The plot is as ridiculous and far-fetched as the first book--this time involving knocking out a little ginger person in kick-boxing, cat murder and destroying the family home. That said, the laughs come so thick and fast that you soon forget how silly the whole thing is and settle in for the ride. The sections dealing with his new son Jacob are touching and really well-observed and served to make William even more likable than he already was. Rudd's writing is great--full of great one-liners that made me laugh out loud regularly.

In short, great fun--recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here