Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
17
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2012
I've been learning Greek for a year and thought it was about time I bought a dictionary in addition to the text book.

As a middle-aged person, I was a little concerned when I read that someone had trouble reading the print because of its size. However, I found the print easy to read wearing my glasses which I have to wear whenever/whatever I read.

The phrasefinder section will be very useful as a quick reminder of useful phrases when travelling...and it even gives English pronunciation.

Another useful section is the one at the back with the numbers, days of the week etc.

All in all, a great little book and worth every penny.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
I have just received this, and am very disappointed! The typeface is far too small and faint for a middle-aged person! The phrase finder section is useful, and a little easier to read, but the typeface is still too small. Not recommended.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2011
This small dictionary is very good for its size. As you would expect, it has all the essential everyday words you'd need for a holiday or any normal occasion. As a young, non-long-sighted adult, I think the font style and size are sufficiently big and words in both languages (and alphabets) are easily legible. But, as you would of course expect, as it is a compact pocket dictionary, those who are rather long-sighted would need glasses, as with any small book.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
Bought this to try to get a genuinely pocket size Greek-English dictionary. In that respect its certainly better than the Oxford Pocket Greek Dictionary which needs a pocket big enough to go shop lifting with. Even so, its still a chunky beast (actually thicker than the Oxford) and unless you have a tailor experienced in fitting the cut of a jacket for carrying an automatic pistol it is still going to prove a challenge to get this into any normal pocket.

There's a few things I like about this compared to the Oxford. Firstly they use a bold blue font to show the word being looked up and I find this works better than the simple black and white in the Oxford. Secondly rather than using m, f and n to signify the gender of nouns it uses the appropriate definite article (o, n & to). It also highlights words like "the", "about" "from" as key words to make them easier to find. Its certainly a good idea to use the "Look Inside" feature to check out which sort of presentation you like.

Worth considering.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
Always interested in, but confused by, the Greek alphabet and trying to decipher words which can sound much like the English version derived from the Greek, it was good to have a means of identifying the letters quickly and, if necessary, looking up the meaning. As a relative beginner, I'm now better with the upper case, but the lower case still leaves me in ignorance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
Very useful little book. It fits in the pocket, is well put together with a durable cover. 2 colour printing helps legibility. Print size is small.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
Tiny book with minute print but certainly pocket sized and very comprehensive. I especially like the vocab pages in the middle
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2012
Good basic dictionary, very handy for carrying around as small and light, the downside is the print size is tiny, which makes reading anything quite difficult.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2009
I just love this little book. Just what I need and goes in the pocket.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
Ok but more for Greeks learning English much to thick for your pocket and text quite small
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse