Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

  • Crash
  • Customer reviews

Crash
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 9 May 2017
Ballard is a weird man and Crash is a bizarre, sexual, depraved story. The man character (who shares his name with the author) is in a loveless marriage and stable job when he gets into a severe car accident. The accident serves as his sexual awakening, and he is introduced to a group of people whose sexual fantasies revolve around car accidents, wounds, bodily fluids and metal.

If anyone asks me in real life what this book is about, I tell them it's car crash porn, and that's not an exaggeration or understatement. It's well written and enjoyable, but it's the only book I have ever taken breaks from. Sometimes I need a minute (or day) to accept the things I just saw happen and reflect on my life. Worth a read though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2016
The best, most fluent and captivating book I have read in a long time. The subject matter is bizarre - and I am still chewing over JG Ballard's comments that it is his most autobiographical work - but the novel weaves an elegant path through the peculiar territory. Its conflicted view of the automobile provides fascinating insight into one of the most important cultural phenomena of our time. An excellent and enriching read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 March 2016
Disturbing ,provoking ,scatological-one of the great alternative classics of the twentieth century and incredibly influential.Surrealism and Absurdism entwined in unique Ballardian style !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2017
on time and great quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2016
Depraved, lyrical, apocalyptic, and finally overwhelming. An astonishing novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2016
I still haven't finished this. I find the themes pretty grim and struggle to pick it up after work... Perhaps I will finish it one day
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2017
She loved it, thanks x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2015
Well written as expected, deeply disturbing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2013
I had avoided reading this book as I must have had some lingering memory of the surrounding controversy. It was definitely not a comfortable or cathartic experience but then it was not meant to be. ‘Clinical’ was one word used positively and negatively by critics of Crash and with a little background reading I discovered how appropriate it was. J.G Ballard spent a portion of his childhood in a Japanese prisoner of war camp (chronicled in the novel and film, Empire of the Sun) and later trained as a doctor. In the light of this, perhaps his detached, unfaltering attitude to bodily functions, disease, damage, obsession and general human mess is understandable. I found it an adult book addressing difficult social issues. The essential idea seemed to be that we live in a society that morbidly adores the car and is undeterred or even excited by the destruction it causes both to the human body and the environment. Ballard offers an unsettling and alienating interpretation of this adoration as a physical longing to join flesh with metal, forcing the audience to confront what this perverse and ultimately fatal attraction might look like and to consider its consequences.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 September 2012
After reading this book I am looking forward to getting back to normality! Crash is a very weird, highly insensitive account of a man, Ballard, who finds sexual pleasure in car crash injuries. Ballard, the character, is assisted in this goal by the mysterious 'Vaughan' whose ultimate aim is to die during a crash into film actress Elizabeth Taylor. Many people have described this book as unpleasant and repetitive but it should not be written off. There are many pages in the book when Ballard, the author, mesmerizes the reader with effortless and vivid descriptions of a world where concrete and machines dominate the landscape.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here