Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
156
4.4 out of 5 stars
Mary Poppins (Essential Modern Classics) (Collins Modern Classics)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£4.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 27 September 2017
Enjoyed reading this to my youngest grandchildren, they've never seen the Mary Poppins film. As I read, I visualised the film characters of Julie Andrews, Dick Van Dyke etc, parts of the book isn't in the film and vice versa. It was great to read the original to my grandchildren, who loved it. Yet I kept thinking parts were a little dark compared to the film. Maybe Walt Disney felt the same & prettied up the characters.
Without the knowledge of the film, the book is excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
This is the second book in the Mary Poppins series, and is very similar to the first. Mary comes back to the Banks' household, and the children go on a series of adventures with her, which may - or may not - be real. Some of the stories are a bit predictable, but some are enchanting, and filled with magic and mystery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2017
I really couldn't relate this book to the film at all and really didn't enjoy reading it at all. I only decided to read the book after seeing the film Saving Mr Banks. Thank goodness Mr Disney made such a good job of the Mary Poppins film!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
Interesting to compare it to the film. Enjoyed it but don't expect the Disney sentimentality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
I got a bit bored of the story after the first two chapters. I much prefer the Walt Disney film version of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
I had this book, same cover as a young girl. Can now read it to my grandchildren. Pleased with purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
the real story not the bastardized Disney movie, haven't read it myself as i bought it for my granddaughter
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2017
I enjoy reading Mary Poppins. I had no idea there were so many books as I only ever watched the original film that misses so much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
Great price. Great item. Got here in good time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2016
Lovely book, just as I remember it as a child in the 1970s
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse