Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
17
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
7
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2010
I'm planning a 3 month trip on my narrow boat and wanted to get a handle on how far I could go and access for crew joining me. This map helped with the initial planning as I could see how many locks I had to face in any one section and the related geography of roads and train lines for access. It was also helpful in giving details of waterways not covered by Nicholson's guides such as The River Great Ouse. Well worth the money.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2010
A single sheet "route planning" map of all the canals is clearly a very useful thing for any narrow boat owner / potential owner.

This map performs that function.
Clearly it needs to be used with detailed maps / guides for actual navigation.

It shows the canals very (too?) clearly. Towns/cities, motorways etc are shown at an ideal "washout" contrast. Canals "under restoration" are also shown.

So what could be better?

1) All the canals are colour coded to the 7 Nicholson Guides. This is way too dominant and confuses an overview perspective. The line thickness is rather crude (too thick).

2) Locks are not shown clearly enough, key to route planning daily distances

3) Unlike on many road maps, there are no distances shown. It would have been extremely useful to have had symbols at key points and eg "28/5" meaning 28 miles & 5 locks between the points.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2009
Up to usual high standards although the recesion and rapidly declining number of pubs will render it increasingly vulnerable to error as soon as it's published, sadly. For canal users this remains a 'must have', however.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2011
If I were hiring a boat for a week or two I wouldn't need this extensive and invaluable map of the whole of the GB waterway system. If I had a boat for any longer, planning a route to maximise what you see is essential - this map fulfils that purpose.

Importantly, it tells you the size of boat each waterway/canal will take in both length and beam, plus any other key information you may need to know. Distances between points are shown in miles plus the number of locks there are in that stretch of the water - essential information for estimating time.

Whether you're really interested in the waterways of Great Britain, or intend to travel around the system, you'll be glad you bought this map.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2009
Waterways Map essential reading/reference for the waterways user - a bonus that the Amazon pricing policy delivers at the right price.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2009
The map is used to follow my daughter's progress in her narrow boat we can instantly see where she is on her travels Its a godsend
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2010
This map is very comprehensive and easy to interpret. It contains details of the Nicholson Waterways Guides. The sheet is too large to be used on board but is ideal for planning a cruise and selecting which of the guides are needed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2011
very good for planning your trips to see the areas of the country and canals to be cruised but you do need the nicholson guide book of the area too for more detailed maps as well as milage markers, water points, winding holes, pub stops, shops and detailed information about towns and villages in the area your cruising through.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2011
Handy map for a overview of the waterway system with a useful key to facilities and marinas. Good value for the money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
In searching my family history I have found a lot of people who worked as Boatmen, Watermen And Bargemen on the canals. This map shows the places where they would have travelled from place to place along the waterways. Ordinary maps dont show the details shown on this map as they are primarily designed for the roads. This is perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)