Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
53
4.7 out of 5 stars
Collins Beekeeper's Bible: Bees, honey, recipes and other home uses
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£20.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 21 December 2015
Title says it all! This is a must for any bee enthusiast, experience or beginner beekeeper or nature lover. It's informative, provides indepth guidance on beekeeping, has chapters on wax & candles & honey & recipes for the use of the honey. The book starts off with a full history of beekeeping, throughout the book there are high quality illustrations & photographs, making it in my view a real standout book on beekeeping.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
perfect for the bee keeper
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
Beautiful book with lovely images and illustrations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
Very very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2010
As somebody new to beekeeping and already having a couple of bee books I was looking for a book with more than the usual basic beekeeping information.
This is a well produced book with lots of ancillary innformation backed up by beautiful colour pictures (often missing in so many other books). The history section is very interesting and puts beekeeping into a social and global perspective. It leads into the regular beekeeping issues describing bees, anatomy, beekeeping fundamentals, crops, disease, etc - again with very good pictures. It finishes with recipes and other uses, which nicely rounds up the total beekeeping experience.

When I bought this book, I had ordered another beekeeping book, which I promptly sent back. This one is a keeper and a nice reference piece.
0Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
An impressive looking tome with some very nice pictures but I was somewhat disappointed that the Collins Beekeepers Bible did little more to compliment or attempt to surpass existing literature. The text is more a case of regurgitation than revelation. Indeed, I felt that there were some passages that seemed so similar to passages found in one of my books I was surprised that the author hadn't been acknowledged. For a "bible" it seemed short on detail for the more experienced beekeeper and rather expensive for the novice. My advice - for much less money buy both Waring for light an informative reading and Hooper for the heavier stuff.
33 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2012
This is a comprehensive and yet comprehensible encyclopedia of bees!
I gave it to a bee keeper in my family who received it with considerable delight..
His young children have also found it a source of wonder, so it is accessible to a wide range of ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
Having just decided that i want to get myself into Beekeeping i decided to buy a few books on the subject and this was one of them. Having only had a few hours with my nose into this book its already a foregone conclusion that i will be getting some bees. This book is great, very informative and full of very detailed pictures to aid descripton. I would reccomend this book to any beginner as i am. Its deffinately earned 5 stars and im only a quater of the way through it! Time will tell weather this book's methodology works but im excited to find out!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
It has everything you need to know, lots of detail, general everyday and plans for the year. If you are going to buy one book, this is the one. If you already have several, as I do, you have most of the information this book will tell you. It is a huge book so not really usable for quick referencing out in the field of Bee Keeping so smaller books are more handy for that, but later at home to check fine details then it is useful for that. Also if you want a more humerous book written from the bee keepers point of view and how they discovered 'what not to do' and comical mishaps then buy another book with this one.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2010
I am very pleased with my purchase of this book, it is a thick bible indeed. The classic cover holds modern illustrations and pictures inside, so don't let that design distract you. It is not a book one has to read from A to Z, just fold it open anywhere and you will be absorbed in the pages. The material is easy to understand (I am a novice in bee-keeping) and technical terms are clearly explained. Also, the tone of voice is pleasant and not like a school teacher's, as some informative books tend to have.
The recipes are a nice addition, but this is not a cook-book.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)